Pear Honey Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Its a very good recipe. I recommend adding more than just 2 pears, I would use equal parts of cranberries and pears. It goes so well with turkey and mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I just made this last night. I also altered it slightly as others have commented; orange juice for water and a dash of nutmeg. It tastes delicious. Thanks so much Joanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was AWESOME! I made this for Thanksgiving dinner. My brother and his wife RAVED about it. They don't generally like cranberry sauce, but they both had seconds. My wife and kids liked it as well. I did follow the suggestions of others to cook in orange juice instead of water, I also cooked the berries first and let them "pop" in the orange juice and sugar. I simmered them for about 10-15 minutes before adding the pears. The pears and the honey go VERY nicely with this sauce. Also, my wife really wanted some oranges in the sauce, so I chopped up an orange and added it when I added the pears. This was VERY YUMMY. I mixed up another batch for Christmas dinner, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I made this recipe for Thansgiving and for my holiday potluck at work. Everyone loved it so I am making this for Christmas dinner too! I also experinemented a little and added about a tsp of vanilla extract and cinnamon and about 1/2 tsp of nutmeg at the same time as the honey and cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving this year. Everyone loved it! Someone had brought some other cranberry sauce from a local bakery, and it was left uneaten, while this got eaten up! Also makes a great addition to leftover apple crisp! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Very tasty recipe! I wanted to make a special cranberry sauce for my first Thanksgiving and this fit the bill. The lemon juice and zest give the sauce a wonderful zip. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Made this recipe this Thanksgiving 2010 and EVERYONE LOVED IT!!! I should have doubled the recipe, it was gone before I knew it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinlife!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This recipe is fantastic! I did follow the advice of others and made a few changes. I used 1/2 cup of honey, 3/4 cup sugar and substituted orange juice for the water. I used 3 bosc pears and eliminated the lemon juice and zest. I simmered for about 20 minutes until most of the cranberries had popped. I tried it after it had cooled off a bit. It was good but definitely tasted better the next day. I have eaten it on toast, served it over cream cheese with crackers and actually as cranberry sauce with a nice chicken dinner. Love that this is so versatile. Don't the let the ingredients scare you...it's a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hendrika

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Amazing! I'll never put the canned stuff on the table again! I used agave instead of the honey and the pot that's on the stove right now has apple and pear in it. Not too sweet and not too tart ... very simple flavors. If you're like me and hate orange with your cranberries, this is the recipe for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zuzuspetals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Ashland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
WAY TOO SWEET ELIMINATE SUGAR AND HONEY Just double pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States