Pear Honey Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I was excited to try this different twist to cranberry sauce especially with ingredients I know I like, but all-in-all I didn't really care for it. The taste of honey really overpowered the other ingredients. I'm not a picky eater either. I used fresh cranberries, Kroger's brand of honey, and the pears were tasty by themselves, so maybe the store brand of honey was my mistake, who knows.... Most likely won't make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldneyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving to do a) something different with Cranberries, and b) try to have a cranberry sauce that has no sugar. I know honey is sugar, but it's different, and it made my wife happier using honey. In any event, this came out great!! Great flavor, great mixture. I'll keep this and make it again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Finger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I just made this for Thanksgiving dinner tonight, as my family loves homemade cranberry sauces but rarely actually make them. I thought this gelled nicely after about 10-15 minutes of cooking, and the scent of the honey was very nice. I added just a touch of cinnamon for some extra flavor. I do find it a little bit too sweet for my tastes, as I prefer my cranberries a bit on the tart side, but we'll see what the verdict is at dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Its a very good recipe. I recommend adding more than just 2 pears, I would use equal parts of cranberries and pears. It goes so well with turkey and mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I just made this last night. I also altered it slightly as others have commented; orange juice for water and a dash of nutmeg. It tastes delicious. Thanks so much Joanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was AWESOME! I made this for Thanksgiving dinner. My brother and his wife RAVED about it. They don't generally like cranberry sauce, but they both had seconds. My wife and kids liked it as well. I did follow the suggestions of others to cook in orange juice instead of water, I also cooked the berries first and let them "pop" in the orange juice and sugar. I simmered them for about 10-15 minutes before adding the pears. The pears and the honey go VERY nicely with this sauce. Also, my wife really wanted some oranges in the sauce, so I chopped up an orange and added it when I added the pears. This was VERY YUMMY. I mixed up another batch for Christmas dinner, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I made this recipe for Thansgiving and for my holiday potluck at work. Everyone loved it so I am making this for Christmas dinner too! I also experinemented a little and added about a tsp of vanilla extract and cinnamon and about 1/2 tsp of nutmeg at the same time as the honey and cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving this year. Everyone loved it! Someone had brought some other cranberry sauce from a local bakery, and it was left uneaten, while this got eaten up! Also makes a great addition to leftover apple crisp! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Very tasty recipe! I wanted to make a special cranberry sauce for my first Thanksgiving and this fit the bill. The lemon juice and zest give the sauce a wonderful zip. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Made this recipe this Thanksgiving 2010 and EVERYONE LOVED IT!!! I should have doubled the recipe, it was gone before I knew it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinlife!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States