Pear Honey Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Previous experience making homemade cranberry sauce told me I'd have to cook this a little longer than the recipe directed, a good 15 minutes. Thus far I've only made cranberry sauce with basic variations - the addition of orange juice and zest, or brown sugar instead of white. Hubs is the cranberry sauce lover in this family and while this variation won't take the place of the traditional style for him, he did enjoy it. The lemon juice and zest coupled with the honey create a balanced and fresh flavor of sweet and tart. The pears were a creative addition that seemed to round out and mellow the flavor of the bold cranberries. It was fun to try and I was more than pleased with the unique and delicious results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
The recipe called for too much honey for my taste. When I made it with 1/2 cup honey and 3/4 cup sugar it was perfect. Definitely the best cranberry sauce I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This recipe is fantastic! It had a specific, special taste that you may find at the Ritz or the Waldorf on their holiday menu. No trouble to make. I used fresh cranberrys that required closer to 20 minutes cooking time rather than 5. If you make this, your guests will rave. Mine did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Way too sweet for my tastebuds. Next time I would cut the honey to 1/4 cup and add another pear as the pear and cranberry work well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was delish! I doubled the recipe but added 1 extra pear and used orange juice and zest instead of lemon. I read the other reviews and cooked the cranberries for 15-20 minutes, and it turned out great. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diana848

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was a real hit at Thanksgiving this year but I'm glad I made it early. My wife and I tasted it shortly after cooking and almost pitched it. Needs a day or two in the fridge for the flavors to blend and mellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paradise Lost

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
WAY too much honey and lemon. It's too tart with a sickly honey sweet. Not a keeper here. *Update* Two days later - the strangest thing, it's GREAT! I'm updating my one star to four! The first day it was just TOO much everything, but we kept it and it was a little better the next day and even better today. Wow! Next year, I'll make it again (using less honey) but I'll make it two days before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
here's the way i made it to make it not so sweet.. the way listed is way sweet oj instead of water but i did add some water 1/4 cup brown sugar 1/4cup white sugar (added a little more white) 1/2 cup honey in addition to this I added some ground cinnamon and ground cloves.. which i think made the flavor when it came time for the lemon juice i was hesitant because it tasted wonderful just as is.. so i added 3/4 tablespoon of lemon juice and it overpowered it a bit. I think if you're going to us OJ you can leave off the lemon juice entirely unless you like lemon flavor. overall the pear flavor is wonderful along with the other spices.. i made the basic sugar/ water/ cranberry 2 years ago and this was much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Excellent! I used orange juice instead of water and 1/4c of honey instead of the full amount. (I may use 1/3c next time though.) Either way, this cranberry sauce is so worth making. It's incredibly simple and much better than the canned stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I used a jelly jar of "pear honey" (made with pears, sugar, and crushed pineapple) that I canned this summer, used the jar to measure the orange juice (as suggested by other reviewers) so it was equal parts OJ and pear honey, and a 12 oz. bag of fresh cranberries. Cooked for 15-20 minutes til all cranberries popped and the mixture was nicely thickened. It's already a thick consistency; I'm sure it'll be more "gelled" by the time we have our meal. As suggested, I'm making it a few days in advance so it has adequate time to set. It's beautiful, smells wonderful, and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States