Pear Honey Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
here's the way i made it to make it not so sweet.. the way listed is way sweet oj instead of water but i did add some water 1/4 cup brown sugar 1/4cup white sugar (added a little more white) 1/2 cup honey in addition to this I added some ground cinnamon and ground cloves.. which i think made the flavor when it came time for the lemon juice i was hesitant because it tasted wonderful just as is.. so i added 3/4 tablespoon of lemon juice and it overpowered it a bit. I think if you're going to us OJ you can leave off the lemon juice entirely unless you like lemon flavor. overall the pear flavor is wonderful along with the other spices.. i made the basic sugar/ water/ cranberry 2 years ago and this was much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Excellent! I used orange juice instead of water and 1/4c of honey instead of the full amount. (I may use 1/3c next time though.) Either way, this cranberry sauce is so worth making. It's incredibly simple and much better than the canned stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I used a jelly jar of "pear honey" (made with pears, sugar, and crushed pineapple) that I canned this summer, used the jar to measure the orange juice (as suggested by other reviewers) so it was equal parts OJ and pear honey, and a 12 oz. bag of fresh cranberries. Cooked for 15-20 minutes til all cranberries popped and the mixture was nicely thickened. It's already a thick consistency; I'm sure it'll be more "gelled" by the time we have our meal. As suggested, I'm making it a few days in advance so it has adequate time to set. It's beautiful, smells wonderful, and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Delicious! I'm so glad to have found this recipe. We've got a new Thanksgiving tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Fantastic!! I wouldn't add a thing...I just used a slotted spoon and took out the majority of the cranberries and pears and lightly blended them...the flavor is absolutely stunning!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
All I can say is WOW! The pears make this dish truly special, in fact, I would add twice as many next time! It's still warm, so I'm super psyched to see the fam's reaction on Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBNewcomb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Delightful! So easy to make. I boiled the sugar & water, then dumped everything in together. Thanks to other reviewers, I used half the honey, a pint jar of pears I canned over summer, orange juice & zest, and a tablespoon of Triple Sec. Simmered 10 minutes & perfection! I LOVE the taste of orange & cranberry together! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKSATTLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I've used this recipe for years, except that I use canned pears (rinsed, drained and diced) and I add a can of mandarin oranges after cooking/cooling. I get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Very good cranberry sauce. I went with a few reviewer's suggestions to use orange juice instead of water, and I'm glad I did. I love the added pear and honey flavor, but it's a bit much on the honey--I'd halve it next time since it's a bit too sweet--too sweet even for the bf. Otherwise, though, this is definitely a lovely cranberry sauce and worth repeating. I also cooked for about 20 minutes to allow for all of the cranberries to pop. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This sauce was a little on the sweet side, for me, but it tasted great. I served it on the side of a cheesecake and the flavors balanced very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States