Pear Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I ended up sprinkling a little sugar in with the pears to get them to caramelize while sauteing them. I also added 2tsp sugar and some cinnamon, ground allspice, and a little ground ginger to the batter. This made the fritters into a sweet, fried treat. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
My first problem was that the pears did not carmelize during the saute. Perhaps they were too ripe or I used the wrong type of pan-I used a nonstick skillet, but they just got mushy and a lot of juice was released. I had to strain the juice out there was so much. Anyway, I was thinking this would be like apple fritters, then noticed there is no sugar listed in the recipe, so I added some and some cinnamon. When they came out of the fryer, I drained them on paper towels then sprinkled them with sugar. They were really kinda boring. I thought the kids would love them, since I don't normally fry stuff for them, but they each ate one and that was that. I had many left over-not a good sign in my house for a repeat. We won't try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly M.
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Simple, easy, and crowd pleasing. Everyone enjoyed the origanal take on a classic, and I can't wait to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Fantastic!!! I had some borderline overripe pears and needed a way to use them. I found this recipe and gave it a try. I'm SO glad I did!!! I'll for sure be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2001
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I'd say this is 10 stars, I made these for dessert and dusted them with powdered sugar, my whole family loved them, even my husband who doesn't like sweets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
add cinnamon and allspice and it is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
These were really good! Easy recipe but don't overcook. They only take a couple of minutes on each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
The fritters were difficult to make. I had issues with the batter being thin. Plus I wanted more sweetness in the batter. I'm not sure how to fix that, but I would add seasonings in the batter. Also, I did not carmelize the pears. This may have been the issue, but I find it hard to believe that it would have improved the batter issues that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
First, I could not get the pears to carmelize. So the inside was super gooey. I did it all by the recipe. Kind of bland and could only have just one. Tasted like oil and flour wrapped goo. Bummer, because they look like yummy doughnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States