Pear Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Absolutely loved this pie! I had an abundance of pears from my trees this year and searched for something to make. So glad I happened upon this recipe! Everyone in the family thought it was unique and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This pie was delicious! I always make a recipe "as is" before modifying anything. I have to say that it was a success! My only warning is to make sure you cover the edges properly because it will leak and make a small mess at the bottom of your stove. Other than that, no issues! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I would rate this a 5, but changed it so I can't. My changes were I used Splenda in place of the sugar because my hubby is diabetic. I also sprinkled the top with chopped pecans. This pie is really good. I had no problems at all with it and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly
Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This pie is delicious! I cut back on the sugar to about 2/3 C. The sweetness of the pears makes up for it. I took this pie to a dinner party and everyone loved it. There was enough custard for two pies, so I froze one. I wrapped it in foil first and then put it in a zip lock bag. A couple months later, it was just as delicious. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I tried this 2 times before I reviewed. The first one I followed exactly and the pears never did get soft, in fact, they got even more tough and hard. Threw that one away. Told my husband I'm going to try it with granny smith apples. Well, I did and I cooked that sucker for about 1 1/2 hours and the apples still weren't done and the custard never set, just juice in the middle. Not sure but it just didn't turn out for me. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Loved this pie! I was looking for a way to use up some pears & this is a great way to do it. Followed the recipe as stated except I didn't have heavy duty foil, just used regular & it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
1st the foil stuck to the pie shell so when we removed it to put in the pears, the pie shell fell apart. 2. After adding the pears, we poured on the custard stuff, only to find the pie shell didn't have enough room, with half of the liquid spilling all over the counter, and onto the floor. Maybe using a deep dish pie shell would help. 3. We haven't even baked it yet and created a huge mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I used 3 Bartlett pears and 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice in place of the nutmeg. I covered the top of the pie with foil as it was starting to brown, and baked it another 20 minutes until the center only wiggled very slightly. I let the pie cool overnight, and when I cut into it the next day it was pretty messy. It seems the custard was not completely set in the bottom/middle of the pie, and ran out over the rest. Let me tell you, nothing is more disappointing then having a beautiful pie that you can't serve to anyone. If I make this again, I am going to add at least one more egg to help it hold together. It had a slight floury taste to it-I kind of felt like I was eating raw batter. Maybe I need to extend the cooking time even more... I'll keep playing with it because the pear flavor was so great and I like the concept.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Excellent and so easy to make. Absolutely delicious. I added a bit more nutmeg, but otherwise followed the recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I got a load of japanese pears from a co-worker, so I decided to try this. I'm glad I did, my family liked it and so did I. I'm not sure if I did something wrong, or if it's supposed to get brown and a little crunchy on top? I checked it after 20 minutes and I thought it was burning so I took it out. After testing it with a knife, however, it wasn't done inside. I cooked it some more, but the top wasn't as pretty as the picture with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States