Pear Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This recipe ROCKS!! My daughter loves pears and agreed to "sacrifice" her beloved pears for this coffee cake. She loves this and felt the sacrifice was well worth it. My co-workers say this is about the best thing I have shared with them. High praise since they all cook well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLMOM84

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Yummy, Yummy! I added sliced maraschino cherries, instead of dates. this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TraciG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This cake was the best! It is my new favorite. I changed the recipe up a bit since I did not have all the ingredients. I did not have any pecans or dates so I just omitted these. I also used just ½ cup of oil and substituted the rest (1 cup) with apple sauce to make it a tad bit healthier. The coconut flakes were very fine since that is what I had and I only used 1 cup. I also made it in a bread pan but it took 2 because there was so much batter. It turned out so good. Both the cakes were gone by the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
OK. After reading several review I used unsweetened coconut and left out the dates. I put my 'cake' aka pear bread, in a large loaf pan, and some in a small loaf pan. I left about an inch of space at the top of each pan as it raised level with the pain. I didn't think this had much falvor even though the pears were ripe off my own tree. My husband will be taking it to work tomorrow. Men there eat everything. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I used canned pears, apple sauce instead of vegetable oil, half brown sugar & half regular sugar. Didn't have any dates, so used dried cranberries instead. Baked it at 325 degrees for 40 minutes in a 9x13 pan. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hutchlm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Great recipe. Full of fiber. I added 1 tsp ginger. and reduced the sugar by a half of a cup. I also substituted 1/2 a cup, fat free vanilla yougert, to replace some of the oil, and then I used 1 cup extra virgin olive oil. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
One of the best cakes I've ever had. I've made many versions of it and they are all good. I've left out the dates and nuts; added raisins instead of dates and completely forgot to add the coconut last night and it's still an awesome cake. Very easy and it makes the house smell wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
1 cup white caster sugar, 2/3 cup oil, 2 eggs, 1 cup mashed pears (can) + juice, a bit more juice from the second can, but not all, 3/4 cup flaked coconut, 1 3/4 cup flower, 1/2 teasp cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon cardamom, 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1/2 teaspoon bakingpowder and 1/2 teaspoon baking soda, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla essence, 3 soup spoons of ginger syrup. Pears of second can sliced and on a 'bed' of brown sugar in the bottom of the baking pan. bake 1 hour at 170 degrees Celsius.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kris
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Well, let me start off by saying that this is really not a coffee cake. It is a very dense, very moist bread. While still warm, the flavor seemed to need more spices. It seemed to need less pears and less coconut. I was not impressed. However, after covering it and storing it in the fridge overnight, the cake was much better the next day. It is still very dense like a fruitcake, but the flavors are much more pronounced and I found it delicious. It still needs less coconut, about half of what is called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Very moist and yummy! As suggested by others, I cut the coconut in half and changed half the sugar to brown. I also replaced all the oil with unsweetened applesauce. When I make it next time I will add more cinnamon and a dash more salt....and maybe a bit of lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PimpernelSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States