Pear Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I love the orange in this recipe. However, the recipe itself needs some work. I did one batch per the instructions and then a second batch in the crock pot as some of the reviewers suggested. My advice, DO NOT DO IT IN THE CROCK POT! The first batch was gorgeous. The crockpot batch was a total disaster. The crockpot certainly doesn't save any time. I still had to mash the pears and now they're boiling on the stove because the crockpot produced twice as much liquid as the stove version. It's going to take me twice as long to finish the recipe now. Also, the crockpot pears are way too dark and have a horrible, stringy consistency, yet I used the same pears as I did in the first batch. Anyway, I adjusted the recipe by using about 7 pounds of pears, 1/3 cup of orange juice and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. Also, I used only 1 1/4 cups of sugar and it was perfect. It took about an hour and a half for the first round of pears to soften. I then put them in the kitchen aid mixer and let them go for a few minutes. I poured them into a saucepan on medium to simmer for 3 hours. Stir frequently (about every 15-20 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Time is NOT accurate, results are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Good for citrus lovers. The orange zest and nutmeg definitely have a distinct flavor. If you like orange marmalade, you like this. It's better on buttered toast than biscuits, I have found. Easy recipe; I used a food processor instead of a food mill. Cook time is incorrect on reference. Pears do cook down considerably. Crock pot sounds like a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Good flavour. I cut the sugar in half and found it to be plenty sweet. The measures were off. I used 5 pounds of pears and didn't get anywhere near 2 quarts of pulp. When all was said and done, I got 3 half-pint jars. A lot of work for little product. Found the cooking times fairly accurate. After about one hour and 20 minutes, the butter was ready. Constant stirring required. Next time I will try the slow cooker method and increase the amount of pears significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sonyastott
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
We have a "wild" pear tree at our new house. I've been waiting on it to start dropping pears...and boy has it! Needing a way to use up alot of pears, I thought I would try this recipe. It is delicious! I read some reviews and decided I would go with the skins on, core out, crock pot method. So, I boiled the pears whole for a bit so that I could easily cut them into quarters. (They are REALLY firm.) Then I cut out the core and boiled the quartered sections until they were soft. Not sure how long this was, since I was busy doing other things. I just kept water over them. When they were soft, I ran them through my Vitamix until it was nice and smooth. I put it into my crock pot with the sugar, orange juice, zest, nutmeg and a little cinnamon. Cooked it overnight. In the morning it was still runny. So, I took the lid off and let it cook some more. That did the trick! I put it in jelly jars in a water bath for 25 mins and they are gorgeous! I really like the orange zest. I didn't put it in until after the Vitamix treatment, so there are "chunks" of it in the jars. Very pretty. With all the pears I will have this season, I'm sure my friends and family will be getting plenty of this! Thanks for the recipe and the tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonyastott
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
It was okay, but we didn't really care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I have made this two times now and we love it. Too bad we gave most of the first batch away as gifts. Some changes Ive made: I have not added any sugar, its not necessary because the pears are so sweet on their own. The cooking time is much longer, I have cooked mine for 6-7 hours. Ive doubled the recipe (10 lbs pears) and added cinnamon and cloves to taste, about 1/4 tsp. I also subbed lemon zest for the orange the first time I made this, which was very good. I just set it on low and come back every hour or so and stir and check on it. I cube the pears up and leave the seeds in and skins on and run it thru the folley mill after they have cooked down well. There are hardly any skins left, they all go thru the holes in the mill and add a nice color to the butter. Ive cooked this down until most of the "grittiness" is gone and its smooth and dark. We have this with an aged cheddar (cabots "private stock") and ritz crackers and the pairing is so good. yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Very flavorful, but a little runny. Made mine in the crock pot, so maybe just did not cook long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This was pretty good. I will try it again but next time will start earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
It's not even done yet and it's delish! I keep testing it while it cooks and I have to step away!! I hate reviewing things with a million substitutes but this is what I did: I swapped out the nutmeg and orange juice/zest for some of my own pumpkin spice mix and the smell is heavenly! I also looked up this recipe because i had a few pears left i didn't want to lose. I also added 2 apples leftover. So good!! I won't be canning it, It wont last that long! hahahaha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States