Pear Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Highjacking my hubbies computer! Anyway I made the butta today. *I used my overripe pears for the butta and it turned out great. Halved and de-stemmed and seeded cooked down for 30 or so then ran them through the Vitamix. Poured all but 2-3 cups back into the pan. Added 2 small organic oranges (quartered) to vitamix along with 2-3 cups pear ran on high till smooth. Split 2 organic vanilla beans add all back into the simmering pot, added sugar and a large pinch O cinnamon. I cooked till I got the consistency I liked and pressure canned for the longhaul of winter. I ate a jar with a spoon while still warm.... LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dylan Stocker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I'm not a huge nutmeg fan so tweaked to my taste , used 1/4 tsp cinnamon instead and only 1/8 nutmeg.mine only took 10 min more than directions to cook down / some folks said it took a lot more.... But then I was using very ripe pears. I did not bother to peel the pears, used and apple corer to whip through em and put in the blender before sieve,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I did change a few things. 1st, I put it all in a crock-pot over night. I also cut back on the sugar to just under 1.5 cups. It look a LONG time for the liquid to cook out. It was very dark and VERY sweet. The flavor was very intense, almost like caramel. I made a second batch and cut the sugar down even more (3/4 cup) and left out the OJ b/c I hoped that would help with the cooking time. It didn't. I hope leaving out the OJ was OK as far as acidity. Second batch was just as dark, but not as sweet (thankfully). I then canned everything. I also used cooking pears, which were pretty firm at the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KerriFNP
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I used small, hard pears from our tree. They are not very sweet, but have an intense flavor. This may be why the full two cups of sugar was exactly right for my batch. I quartered and cored the pears, left the peel on and weighed out 4 pounds post prep. It took a bit more water for step 1, slowly added water 1/8 cup at a time until they were softened. This ended up taking about a full cup of water and 2 hours with the pot covered, not the 30 minutes as stated (again, the hardness of my fruit may account for the difference). I followed the rest of the directions pretty closely and the flavor, texture and color are all spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerriFNP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I love the orange in this recipe. However, the recipe itself needs some work. I did one batch per the instructions and then a second batch in the crock pot as some of the reviewers suggested. My advice, DO NOT DO IT IN THE CROCK POT! The first batch was gorgeous. The crockpot batch was a total disaster. The crockpot certainly doesn't save any time. I still had to mash the pears and now they're boiling on the stove because the crockpot produced twice as much liquid as the stove version. It's going to take me twice as long to finish the recipe now. Also, the crockpot pears are way too dark and have a horrible, stringy consistency, yet I used the same pears as I did in the first batch. Anyway, I adjusted the recipe by using about 7 pounds of pears, 1/3 cup of orange juice and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. Also, I used only 1 1/4 cups of sugar and it was perfect. It took about an hour and a half for the first round of pears to soften. I then put them in the kitchen aid mixer and let them go for a few minutes. I poured them into a saucepan on medium to simmer for 3 hours. Stir frequently (about every 15-20 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Time is NOT accurate, results are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Good for citrus lovers. The orange zest and nutmeg definitely have a distinct flavor. If you like orange marmalade, you like this. It's better on buttered toast than biscuits, I have found. Easy recipe; I used a food processor instead of a food mill. Cook time is incorrect on reference. Pears do cook down considerably. Crock pot sounds like a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Good flavour. I cut the sugar in half and found it to be plenty sweet. The measures were off. I used 5 pounds of pears and didn't get anywhere near 2 quarts of pulp. When all was said and done, I got 3 half-pint jars. A lot of work for little product. Found the cooking times fairly accurate. After about one hour and 20 minutes, the butter was ready. Constant stirring required. Next time I will try the slow cooker method and increase the amount of pears significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sonyastott
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
We have a "wild" pear tree at our new house. I've been waiting on it to start dropping pears...and boy has it! Needing a way to use up alot of pears, I thought I would try this recipe. It is delicious! I read some reviews and decided I would go with the skins on, core out, crock pot method. So, I boiled the pears whole for a bit so that I could easily cut them into quarters. (They are REALLY firm.) Then I cut out the core and boiled the quartered sections until they were soft. Not sure how long this was, since I was busy doing other things. I just kept water over them. When they were soft, I ran them through my Vitamix until it was nice and smooth. I put it into my crock pot with the sugar, orange juice, zest, nutmeg and a little cinnamon. Cooked it overnight. In the morning it was still runny. So, I took the lid off and let it cook some more. That did the trick! I put it in jelly jars in a water bath for 25 mins and they are gorgeous! I really like the orange zest. I didn't put it in until after the Vitamix treatment, so there are "chunks" of it in the jars. Very pretty. With all the pears I will have this season, I'm sure my friends and family will be getting plenty of this! Thanks for the recipe and the tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonyastott
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
It was okay, but we didn't really care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States