Pear Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Yummy, loads of flavor. Take longer then 30 minute to bake but so worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I would give this 3 1/2 if I could...just not my favorite bread pudding recipe; a lot of expensive ingredients to buy and I agree with another reviewer this was a little bland. I changed the servings to 8 for my family, and it was still underdone at 30 minutes, so adjust your times accordingly. Also, I could barely squeeze my ingredients into a 9x13 pan. If you make the recipe as written be prepared to use a larger dish. I did not use a water bath although I did cover as directed and it seemed to bake fine. We just thought it was so-so; I wanted a dessert to use ripe pears so thought I would try something new. Next time I will go for a tart or pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This recipe was just a little bit bland for my tastes. Not sure if I'll make it again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I had a large can of pears to use up and this was the best recipe I could find for my tastes and that purpose. The taste of the finished product as I made it was very good. I think you'd be hard pressed to mess up the taste with these ingredients. :) However, as the other reviewers noted, there are several issues with the recipe as written: 1) Mine was in the oven for a total 80 minutes (even though the knife still wasn't perfectly clean and I used half the amount of bread). 2) I replaced the pear brandy with the syrup from the can. 3) I used one loaf of French bread, sliced about 1/2" to 1" thick and did not remove the crust (2 loaves, a pound, seemed way too much). 4) I did not add any vanilla and only about half the salt to the crumb topping as I don't normally add any vanilla or salt to crumb toppings. 5) I made this in a baking dish with a glass top. I didn't add any weights or other covers, but again I also used half the amount of bread. It made two layers without stuffing the pieces together. The liquid just covered the bread I used. I removed the top to brown the topping for about 10-15 minutes. 6) I put the crumb topping only on the top and it covered nicely. It wouldn't have been enough if I had used any within the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This is incredibly amazing! Bread pudding is my all time favorite desert and it FAR surpasses any other bread pudding that I have tasted! I have never had the confidence to make it, but im so pleased that I did. Thank you for sharing this fabulous recipe!! If you take 1/2C. Butter, 1/2C. Sugar, 1/2C. Heavy Whipping Cream, and 1/4C. of White Christmas Liqueur, boil it for 5minutes (stirring constantly) and serve immediately over the Pudding. YUMMY!! Thank you again! Blessings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Loved it! Made this for dinner with friends and nobody could get enough! Didn't do the weight thing; cooked it for nearly an hour though. Would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I tripled this for a dessert for 20 people, everyone enjoyed it. I used italian bread in place of artisian bread and added considerably moe milk. I also skipped the whole "bath" routine" and the weight on top business. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Up front - I halved this recipe for six servings. Somehow I don't think the ingredient ratios faired well. The vanilla was too much and it needed more than 2 pears. I, too, could not find pear brandy but I had German pear Obstler and so used that. Not sure if the American pear brandy would impart a stronger pear flavor. Overall it was so-so to good but I will make it as written for twelve to see if it will be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
The flavor and texture of this bread pudding are excellent. The only reason I did not give a full 5 stars is for the recipe itself- I think the cooking time is WAY off. This needed at least 50 minutes at 350, not 25 as written in the recipe. I will certainly make this again, but with notes for different cooking times. I might also try nutmeg instead of the cinnamon- nutmeg is fabulous with pears! Also, I did not have pear brandy. I substituted Caramel Liquor- yum! Regular brandy would also be a substitute- although I'll be keeping my eyes open for pear brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was very good. I made it three days ago and still have left overs in the fridge and it still taste really good. I didn't do it exactly the way the recipe said but overall it still worked out. I used french bread, cut up in cubes or bite size pieces. I used two cans of sliced pears in thier juices because the pears at the supermarket were not ripe at all and I needed them that day. Then I used the juice from the can because I did not have enough time to go get pear brandy. I'm making this again and will try with the brandy but other than that enjoyed alot. Oh, and the crumb mixture is goooood. It taste like you are eating a crumb coffe cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States