Pear Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I thought this was a good recipe, but it almost tastes like apple bread to me. I made some with cinnamon and some with just nutmeg. I felt the cinnamon covered up any pear flavor and preferred the nutmeg only version. I did add more pears than called for - about 1/2 cup more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This recipe is so moist! There aren't a lot of recipes out there for pears and this is one of the best ones I have ever found. I only used 1/2 cup of oil and it was still so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I used 3 cans of pears and left it chunky. Delicious!! I also went light on the sugar (maybe 1 1/2 cups) and it was still nice and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
wow! so good! i didn't add the pecans b/c i was out, but it didn''t make a difference. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Amazing! Substituted natural applesauce for the oil and only used 1/2 c brown sugar, 1/2 c sugar and it was still delightfully sweet. Diced the pears pretty small. Definitely keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Sooo moist and even after several days. Used 1/2 oil 1/2 applesauce and 1 cup white and 1 cup brown sugar. Left out the nuts and put only 1 tsp vanilla and baked in a dark bundt pan for 50 minutes. Seriously delicious.. got rave reviews with family and at work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I cut this recipe back to ten servings. I made an omelette with egg whites which means I had an egg yolk to use in another recipe. Not really a halved egg but it worked with what I needed without any waste. I also did not have any pecans on hand. To make up the half cup, I added in one half cup of ground oats. I just threw the oats in the mini food processor and pulsed until it was a fine consistancy, almost like whole wheat flour. Those were the only changes I made. I actually got 12 bigger-sized muffins out of this recipe. I baked them at 350 for 20 minutes. They turned out nicely--moist and the right amount of pear. I'd like to make these again but I think I'd increase the spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Delicious! Substituted 1 cup applesauce for the oil and added a bit of allspice. Very tasty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Bowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
The pear and nutmeg are great together. Flavor is even better the next day. Love the crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
easy and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States