Pear Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I never liked pears, but my man kept bringing them home. This bread is excellent and made me decide I really DO like pears. Halved the recipe and made a few changes, and the result was really good (NEAR perfect). Used 4 smashed or cut into small chunks d'anjou pears. Drained some of the liquid out of them, as they were very juicy. Used self-rising flour (have no plain) and baking soda but left out the baking powder and all but a couple of shakes of salt. Used Splenda brown sugar subs for half the white sugar and unsweetened applesauce for half the oil. Used one large egg instead of one and a half. The bread was very moist and almost cake-like. I had used just a small amt of salted butter to grease the pan, and part of it stuck to the bottom of the glass pan. I didn't care, as we were eating it, but for guests it would have been unsightly. This pear bread was great, right amt of spice for me, still had that slightly gritty pear texture, just complex enough to be really good. The nutmeg really is great with the pear, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJBOULANGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Per other reviewer suggestions, I substituted 1/2 cup applesauce for 1/2 cup of oil to make this healthier. I also subbed 1 cup brown sugar for 1 cup of the white sugar. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Excellent reduced the sugar and oil by 25%, still turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Very disappointing. I followed a few of the recommended tweaks (1/2 cup applesauce, 1/2 cup oil, 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup sugar, and an extra 1/2 cup of pears), plus I made an oatmeal pecan streusel topping, and I was extremely unimpressed with the bread itself. It was very bland and definitely lacking something....not quite sure what it's missing, but with all the other amazing recipes on this site, I will not be keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nycgirl79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Banana and zucchini breads do nothing for me, but this one is another story. Substituted sweetened applesauce that I had on hand for the oil, reduced sugar to 1 cup, used 1 C whole wheat flour & 2 C regular. Oh, and forgot to add the nutmeg (next time). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Tried it, loved it! I used half whole wheat flour, half all purpose flour and used my homemade unsweetened applesauce instead of the oil. I used half white sugar and half brown sugar. I also sprinkled flax seeds all over the bread before it went into the oven for some extra crunch. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Thank You for this recipe ! I used the applesauce substitute and walnuts in place of pecans. Several friends want the recipe and loved this bread ! Now we all have more use for our pears from out pear tree !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I hate when people change recipes on their first try .....but... I made some modifications because I didn't have the ingredients. So instead of all vegetable oil ( I ran out exactly half way) I used 1/2 vegetable oil and half coconut oil... As well I used half brown sugar and half coconut sugar ( are u getting an idea of what's in my pantry?!) I also skipped the nuts because my kids can't have them.....although I think they would be yummy. The recipe came out these smooth molasses-y breads super yummy! I did teduce the time a little and the batter when mixed is very thick. I'd definately make them again, I'll try just a is next time with the right ingredients... But this way worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Wow!!! Family loved it. Said it reminded them of comfort and Christmas. I did trade half of the oil with applesauce and half the white sugar with brown sugar. Another winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States