Pear Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Wonderful bread recipe! It took 3 diced pears to yield 2 1/2 cups. One of my pears was overripe and resembled a thick applesauce once diced. However, it seemed to have the same effect as applesauce in a bread too...it turned out a very moist and delicious loaf. I was worried about us being able to eat two whole loaves, since it's just the two of us and we have limited freezer space, but my boyfriend keeps going back for more and it's going FAST! Thanks for sharing Anna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
WOW!! I'm pretty sure this is the best bread I have ever eaten! Didn't change a thing except baked it in 6 small bread pans. Thanks for the recipe, Anna!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Great. I did modify a bit to my preferences (less sugar, more cinnamon, etc..) The major difference was that I grated the pears, which made it a nice and moist texture even though I decreased the oil by 1/3 cup. I also grated in a little fresh ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This bread is SCRUMPTIOUS!! I substituted walnuts for pecans and added a bit more cinnamon than called for. I happened to have three very ripe pears I needed to use in a recipe before they became over-ripe. I chopped into 1/2 inch pieces, which was just right for the recipe. What a treat! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tisha Parrott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Kansas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Very good, and easy. Used 1 1/2 cup white sugar, and 1/2 cup brown sugar. Also did 2 tsp Cinn. and 1/4 tsp cardamon. And added a light streusel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riblet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This bread turned out great.I doubled the cinnamon and added a cup of shredded zucchini which I thought was really good in this bread.I also added about a half cup of frozen blueberries to the second loaf just because I love blueberries.I used applesauce for half the oil and it still turned out extremely moist.The pear taste is very subtle in this but I really like the spiciness of the bread.Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This was really good. I had some pears that needed to be used so I was looking for a way to use them. I actually made it as muffins because my kids will eat muffins better than slices of bread. They only had to bake 20 minutes as muffins. I subbed 2 cups of whole wheat flour for 2 of the cups of flour and used 1/2 c. coconut oil and 1/2 c. applesauce in place of the vegetable oil. I also left out the nuts because my kids don't like them. I mixed a little brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg together and sprinkled it on the top. Very yummy and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I made this recipe once for a potluck and never got to taste it because it was eaten so fast, so I made it again for myself and I was glad I did because mmm this bread is SO DELICIOUS. Following some other reviewers' advice, I replaced the oil with applesauce. The pear flavour is really subtle and the applesauce can overpower it, so don't be timid about overdoing it with the pears. I used quite a lot, and the bread took a bit longer to cook, but it was worth it. I also omitted the salt and the pecans (because I never have pecans around), and the bread was fine without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flyingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Wonderful! This is a great way to use pears that are becoming ripe to fast, and a great quick bread recipe. I did make a few substutions-1/2 cup brown sugar for white sugar, 1/2 cup butter for vegetable oil, and I added about 3/4 cup chopped fresh cranberries for color and flavor. I will definitely be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This recipe was really good, my husband and kids can't stop eating them. I did alter it a bit though. Instead of 1 cup of oil, I used 1 cup of unsweetened applesauce and walnuts instead of pecans (I was out of pecans). Plus I put the batter in muffin tins instead of a bread pan. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States