Pear Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Very good, and easy. Used 1 1/2 cup white sugar, and 1/2 cup brown sugar. Also did 2 tsp Cinn. and 1/4 tsp cardamon. And added a light streusel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riblet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This bread turned out great.I doubled the cinnamon and added a cup of shredded zucchini which I thought was really good in this bread.I also added about a half cup of frozen blueberries to the second loaf just because I love blueberries.I used applesauce for half the oil and it still turned out extremely moist.The pear taste is very subtle in this but I really like the spiciness of the bread.Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This was really good. I had some pears that needed to be used so I was looking for a way to use them. I actually made it as muffins because my kids will eat muffins better than slices of bread. They only had to bake 20 minutes as muffins. I subbed 2 cups of whole wheat flour for 2 of the cups of flour and used 1/2 c. coconut oil and 1/2 c. applesauce in place of the vegetable oil. I also left out the nuts because my kids don't like them. I mixed a little brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg together and sprinkled it on the top. Very yummy and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I made this recipe once for a potluck and never got to taste it because it was eaten so fast, so I made it again for myself and I was glad I did because mmm this bread is SO DELICIOUS. Following some other reviewers' advice, I replaced the oil with applesauce. The pear flavour is really subtle and the applesauce can overpower it, so don't be timid about overdoing it with the pears. I used quite a lot, and the bread took a bit longer to cook, but it was worth it. I also omitted the salt and the pecans (because I never have pecans around), and the bread was fine without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flyingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Wonderful! This is a great way to use pears that are becoming ripe to fast, and a great quick bread recipe. I did make a few substutions-1/2 cup brown sugar for white sugar, 1/2 cup butter for vegetable oil, and I added about 3/4 cup chopped fresh cranberries for color and flavor. I will definitely be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This recipe was really good, my husband and kids can't stop eating them. I did alter it a bit though. Instead of 1 cup of oil, I used 1 cup of unsweetened applesauce and walnuts instead of pecans (I was out of pecans). Plus I put the batter in muffin tins instead of a bread pan. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I really liked this bread. I did change a couple of things. Instead of oil I used same amount of chunky applesauce and the sugar I used 1 cup white and 1 cup of brown. I made mini loafs for Christmas give away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This recipe was lovely. For the flour I substituted half the amount with whole wheat, and I used applesauce for the oil. I made one loaf and baked the rest of the batter as muffins, and they were perfectly moist and very, very tasty. I thought they were a tad sweet, but that is probably because of the applesauce; I'll try to take that into account next time. They smell wonderful while baking! Overall, excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This bread is yummy. I could not stop eating it straight from the oven. I used 1/2 c. applesauce and 1/2 c. oil and I left out the pecans. I baked it in a 9x13 pan and it was ready in 45 minutes. This is a great way to use up pears that no one wants to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This tasted good but took a long time to finish cooking. I used 2 loaf bread pans as stated but for some reason the middle was not getting done. I ended up having to put foil over the top to keep it from getting burned while it finished cooking. It took over an hour to bake, my guess is about an hour and 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYNDEELYNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States