Pear Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Really love the texture and taste of this bread. Used half honey and half white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
LOVE! I made one loaf and one dozen muffins. Loaf took about an hour and the muffins took about 45 mins in my oven. I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups, but instead used half brown sugar and half white sugar. Used 1/2c oil and 1/2c homemade applesauce. Though super yummy, I didn't get the carmalized top cause I cut down the sugar. Next time, I'll use full 2c of sugar to get that special top. This recipe would be good with a variety of different fruits. I can't wait to make it with apples or bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMconnected

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Good..added nutmeg and cloves..like it a little spicer but gave it away as a gift and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary k

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Like others, I made some substitutions/additions: 1 cup applesauce for 1 cup vegetable oil, 2 cups brown sugar for 2 cups granulated sugar, 3 cups pears instead of 2 1/2 cups pears, 1 teaspoon ground clove. I suggest using fully ripened pears (this is standard for most baking recipes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ghent, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Everyone loved it! Very nice dense bread with a great flavor, and a great way to use up a bunch of extra ripe pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Utah, USA
Living In: South Weber, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I did double the cinnamon and nutmeg. My husband and I both agree that I could serve this as a dessert with scoop of ice cream to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Good way to use up an excess of pears. Husband and kids really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This bread was FANTASTIC! Probably the best I have made yet. I cut the recipe in half and made 1 bread, so due to the fact that 2 breads called for 3 eggs, I choose to use 1 egg because I upped the pears to 2 cups (that's what I had and didn't want to waste them). I subbed the white sugar for sucanat and everything else was the same. The baking time was right on, to the minute! This bread was VERY moist, but not gooey, just perfect with a crunchy top. Even my husband agreed that this bread was GREAT. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Very good recipe. Going to try the applesauce next time and maybe some blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Very sweet bread, next time I will only use 1 1/2 c. sugar or less. I probably will make this again tomorrow due to all the pears we have, and I'm going to add some brandy to the batter also, I'll update my review when I'm done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States