Pear Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Everyone loved it! Very nice dense bread with a great flavor, and a great way to use up a bunch of extra ripe pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Utah, USA
Living In: South Weber, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I did double the cinnamon and nutmeg. My husband and I both agree that I could serve this as a dessert with scoop of ice cream to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Good way to use up an excess of pears. Husband and kids really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This bread was FANTASTIC! Probably the best I have made yet. I cut the recipe in half and made 1 bread, so due to the fact that 2 breads called for 3 eggs, I choose to use 1 egg because I upped the pears to 2 cups (that's what I had and didn't want to waste them). I subbed the white sugar for sucanat and everything else was the same. The baking time was right on, to the minute! This bread was VERY moist, but not gooey, just perfect with a crunchy top. Even my husband agreed that this bread was GREAT. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Very good recipe. Going to try the applesauce next time and maybe some blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Very sweet bread, next time I will only use 1 1/2 c. sugar or less. I probably will make this again tomorrow due to all the pears we have, and I'm going to add some brandy to the batter also, I'll update my review when I'm done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
We have pear trees,so i tried this bread.It was really good.Everyone enjoyed it.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I found a container of need-to-eat pears for 50 cents at the market today and thought I'd use them up on this recipe. I wanted to make it healthier though so I changed a bit around. I didn't peal the pears and kept the chunks a decent size. This made about 4 cups. I mixed them with 1 cup Equal for baking then let them sit in a strainer for an hour. I added an additional 1/4 cup Equal when mixing the batter, replaced the oil with applesauce, used 1/2 cup oat bran and 2.5 cups of whole wheat flour, didn't use salt, and added 1/2 tsp of ginger. I made mini loafs and they are delicious! The only problem is that I ate 4... so much for being healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I made this last night and it is one of the best breads I've ever baked! Everyone loved it - made in two 9x5 pans...very moist... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Wonderful bread. I ended up making 4 loaves with the first 2 being by the recipe and the second 2 I added two very ripe bananas. Yes, it's true you don't really "taste" the pear but pears don't have a strong taste, just very subtle. We thought both types were great. It will be made again in this home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States