Pear Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Sooo moist and even after several days. Used 1/2 oil 1/2 applesauce and 1 cup white and 1 cup brown sugar. Left out the nuts and put only 1 tsp vanilla and baked in a dark bundt pan for 50 minutes. Seriously delicious.. got rave reviews with family and at work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I cut this recipe back to ten servings. I made an omelette with egg whites which means I had an egg yolk to use in another recipe. Not really a halved egg but it worked with what I needed without any waste. I also did not have any pecans on hand. To make up the half cup, I added in one half cup of ground oats. I just threw the oats in the mini food processor and pulsed until it was a fine consistancy, almost like whole wheat flour. Those were the only changes I made. I actually got 12 bigger-sized muffins out of this recipe. I baked them at 350 for 20 minutes. They turned out nicely--moist and the right amount of pear. I'd like to make these again but I think I'd increase the spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Delicious! Substituted 1 cup applesauce for the oil and added a bit of allspice. Very tasty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Bowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
The pear and nutmeg are great together. Flavor is even better the next day. Love the crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
easy and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Delicious! It was a great way to use all the pears off my pear tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I used my frozen pears and split the sugars, 1/2 brown and 1/2 white. Used canola oil rather than veg oil. Made 5 mini loaves. Turned out great. Will use this recipe again for sure. I'm freezing two of the the loaves, so I will let you know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Really love the texture and taste of this bread. Used half honey and half white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
LOVE! I made one loaf and one dozen muffins. Loaf took about an hour and the muffins took about 45 mins in my oven. I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups, but instead used half brown sugar and half white sugar. Used 1/2c oil and 1/2c homemade applesauce. Though super yummy, I didn't get the carmalized top cause I cut down the sugar. Next time, I'll use full 2c of sugar to get that special top. This recipe would be good with a variety of different fruits. I can't wait to make it with apples or bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMconnected

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Good..added nutmeg and cloves..like it a little spicer but gave it away as a gift and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary k

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States