Pear Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Very disappointing. I followed a few of the recommended tweaks (1/2 cup applesauce, 1/2 cup oil, 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup sugar, and an extra 1/2 cup of pears), plus I made an oatmeal pecan streusel topping, and I was extremely unimpressed with the bread itself. It was very bland and definitely lacking something....not quite sure what it's missing, but with all the other amazing recipes on this site, I will not be keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nycgirl79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Banana and zucchini breads do nothing for me, but this one is another story. Substituted sweetened applesauce that I had on hand for the oil, reduced sugar to 1 cup, used 1 C whole wheat flour & 2 C regular. Oh, and forgot to add the nutmeg (next time). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Tried it, loved it! I used half whole wheat flour, half all purpose flour and used my homemade unsweetened applesauce instead of the oil. I used half white sugar and half brown sugar. I also sprinkled flax seeds all over the bread before it went into the oven for some extra crunch. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Keating

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Thank You for this recipe ! I used the applesauce substitute and walnuts in place of pecans. Several friends want the recipe and loved this bread ! Now we all have more use for our pears from out pear tree !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I hate when people change recipes on their first try .....but... I made some modifications because I didn't have the ingredients. So instead of all vegetable oil ( I ran out exactly half way) I used 1/2 vegetable oil and half coconut oil... As well I used half brown sugar and half coconut sugar ( are u getting an idea of what's in my pantry?!) I also skipped the nuts because my kids can't have them.....although I think they would be yummy. The recipe came out these smooth molasses-y breads super yummy! I did teduce the time a little and the batter when mixed is very thick. I'd definately make them again, I'll try just a is next time with the right ingredients... But this way worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Wow!!! Family loved it. Said it reminded them of comfort and Christmas. I did trade half of the oil with applesauce and half the white sugar with brown sugar. Another winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
We shred our pears instead of chopping - they tend to get a little gooey when left in chunks (after the bread has been baked). We leave out the nuts, just a preference, but a great and different quick bread to switch up the same old same old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Awesome! I didn't have any nuts but it still turned out wonderful. I was also a bit short on oil but it was still extremely moist. Brought it to a study group and it was devoured! Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Made a couple of recommended changes. Used applesauce in place of 1/2 of the oil and used Canola oil and used 3/4 cup light brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar. Very moist! One loaf was gone before dinner! So good when warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States