Pear Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Very good bread, moist and easy to make. I made it as written and I give 4 stars since I thinkk it was a bit to much oil. Which is great to keep the bread moist for a longer period of time, but the end result was a little too oily. The bottom of my finished bread was glistening and semi-wet from oil. I will do 50/50 oil and applesauce next time or reduce oil to 2/3 cup. Be careful not to use overly ripe pears that are running with juice or else you'll get a soggy bread. I used ripe but still firm pear, 2 pears are plenty, and coarsely chopped them. Great Fall bread. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This bread was delicious! I did substitute white flour for whole wheat, applesauce for oil & some brown sugar for white sugar and it came out perfect. The recipe made 2 9x5 loaves so I took one in to work and it was instantly gone. Even my boss (who doesn't like sweets) gave it rave reviews. I will definately make it again and would recommend it to anyone looking for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This is real good.. a little too sweet, but I blame that on my very ripe, dripping sweetness pears. I think next time I'll hold back on the sugar a little depending on their ripeness. This was worth the time and effort and it used up some surplus of extra pears from the tree, If I were to have a choice of my sweet bread recipes, I would stick with the zucchini bread. That's my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandoo4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marengo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I made this bread twice. The 1st time following the directions exactly. The 2nd time, I used 1/2 oil and 1/2 unsweetened applesauce, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp ginger. I did not peel the pears and this was fine. Both ways, the bread came out delicious. Great recipe, I am making again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Super delicious and VERY popular among my coworkers. Made a few healthy changes: Used 2 eggs, 1/2 c veg oil and replaced the rest with fresh applesauce I made using 2 apples. Used 4 pears, small chopped (instead of measuring w/cups). Reduced the sugar by half. Used allspice instead of nutmeg. It cooked in an hour and tasted amazing. Thanks so much for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I added a pinch of cloves for a little extra something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This recipe is super easy and really good. As others suggested, I used 1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce and 1/2 cup vegetable oil. I also increased the spices (2 tsp. cinnamon, 1 tsp. freshly ground nutmeg, and 1 tsp. ginger) as that is my personal preferance. I used pears that were still a little hard, and it turned out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chevy Chase, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I made this tonight with my daughter, half of it in muffins. It was easy to make, and the consistency of it was wonderful. I added more cinnamon and a little bit of ground cloves to it, and I've already eaten three of the muffins! Looking forward to having it for breakfast, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
No one liked it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Very satisfying and moist bread. To cut calories and fat, I substituted half of the oil for applesauce, 1/2 cup of the flour for ground flaxseed, half of the white sugar for Splenda brown sugar,and used 2 eggs instead of 3. Came out great...will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States