Pear Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
There was just one addition not necessarily a change. I used pumpkin spice because it has all the spice flavoring you need. Other than this addition, I made it exactly as the recipe called for. It was delicious, moist, and a definite keeper. The batter was perfect for my two small loaf pans. We polished off one in less than eight hours. I wrapped the second one in plastic wrap, but I suspect that it will be gone by the end of the day!!!!! Great recipe even without a pear taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This is a tasty fruit bread! During this season when pears are inexpensive, this bread is an easy gift to bake & take when visiting friends/family or when you want to share something at work around the coffee station. It freezes well, too. -Paula Akbari
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Akbari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Used a half cup of oil and a quarter cup of applesauce for a little healthier bread. Added chopped nuts too. Delicious! Also used canned pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
It was very good fresh out of the oven. But it was VERY dry the next day. It had a good spice cake flavor to it. You really don't taste the pears at all. Ill make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Cole

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by halpert2
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This turned out great. Followed the recipe but was a little short of pears so added some cranberry sauce that I made at the same time. I like it toasted with a little cream cheese on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This is incredibly good. As written, five stars. The second time I made it I made some adjustments to make it healthier, and it was just as delicious. I did one cup each of wheat, white and oat flour. 1 1/2 cups of sugar. 1/2 cup oil, 1/4 cup non fat Greek yogurt. Added 1/4 cup ground flax seed. Big hit with everyone. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This bread is very similar to zucchini bread, only slightly better. :) My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia Giddens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Very nice bread. Mine was slightly overcooked :( due to my oven having an issue that needs to addressed. Other than that, I made some small changes to my liking. I replaced the oil with applesauce and cut the sugar to 1 1/3 cup. I also halved the cinnamon but added a few pinches each of ginger, cloves and nutmeg, as well as 2 TBLSP flaxseed. I was short on fresh pears, so I added half a chopped apple to compensate. In place of the pecans I subbed walnuts, using a little less but still reserving some to put on top of the batter, along with some turbinado sugar. When dusting the pan with flour, I also added some cinnamon-sugar. This is a keeper that I'll be sure to make again, even trying other additions. Thanks ANGIEGAIL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
It was very bland. No flavor at all. I used 4 pears, peeled and cut them up in very small chuncks and followed the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sibrina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
MY BELOVED AND I MADE THIS BREAD THIS AFTERNOON. WE USED OUR FOOD PROCESSOR TO SHRED THE PEARS AFTER THEY WERE PEELED. I DIDN'T LIKE THE WAY THE PEARS WERE TOO JUICEY. AND THERE FOR REALLY MADE FOR A SOUPY KIND OF SHREDDING. WE STILL USED IT AND MADE THIS PEAR BREAD USING WHEAT FLOUR. ITS REALLY GOOD! WE EVEN MADE ONE LOAF FOR MY HUSBANDS PARENTS :) IT DOES NEED ALIL BUTTER BECAUSE WHEAT FLOUR CAN BE SOMEWHAT DRY. WE GIVE THIS PEAR BREAD 4 STARS. NX TIME IF WE MAKE IT AGAIN WE WILL USE SMALL THIN SLICES OF PEARS AND CHOP THEM UP AND ADD THEM TO MIX. WOULD ADD PHOTO,BUT ITS ALL COVERED :) MAYBE NX TIME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States