Pear Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
After i read everyone's very helpful commments, i changed the recipe - 3.5 cups pear processed, then half a cup of pears cut up into chunks. even then, i realized that the joy of pear is in the subtlety of its taste - the bread still barely tasted like pear. i also used 1.75c sugar and halved the cinnamon and used less than 2/3c oil - the extra pears made it wetter. could use a little more soda. maybe some allspice. it's decent bread if you have a lot of pears...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
I've made this bread for years now and everytime I make it, I get another compliment on it and a request for the recipe. I make this exact from what your recipe says. Its good with a cup of tea in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
This has a very subtle taste to be sure, but it is moist and sweet. I used canned pears which was time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Not what I was expecting...a very good bread but very similar to zucchini bread, thought it would have more of a pear taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
Great fruit bread! Minced some ripe pears and had a tasty treat. No other adjustments were necessary. That bread was GONE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I received a basket of fruit as a gift and it had a lot of pears. No one in my family eats pears so I tried this recipe. My family loved it but I never told them there were pears in it and they couldn't tell. I left the nuts out of the recipe. It was very moist-almost tasted like my pumpkin bread recipe. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
This bread was delicious...almost sweet enough to be a dessert! A hot, buttered slice is a wonderful way to start your day. You will certainly enjoy this moist, flavorful loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
Very tasty and easy, but I didn't get much pear taste out of it--the end result was a little like carrot cake. Next time I think I'll increase the amount of fruit I put in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
Pretty simple to make aside from grating the pears. The bread was a bit bland though, no pear taste. It would be good with a bit of jam or with milk. I also thought it might taste nice with a brown sugar crumble top, kind of like coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2001
Not bad for using up pears. I tried reducing the oil a bit, but they came out a little tough. Good flavour, though. Nicer warmed up in microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States