Pear Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2000
I baked this, without the nuts, for a local pear festival and won a first place ribbon! It is a flavorful, moist cake-like bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2000
wow! yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2000
This is a very good tasting bread. I used canned pears instead of fresh and just chopped them up. The mix was a bit dry, so I added a little of the canned juice along with the pears. It baked in the same amount of time indicated with the extra juice. This bread is on the sweet side, but maybe that's because of the extra juice. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
We received some over ripe pears in a fruit basket and were unable to shred them, so pear mash worked just fine. My husband and five children loved the bread; it was very moist and enjoyable. This is quite an accomplishment for my family, as out of the seven of us, only one enjoys the flavor pears. Unfortunately, our Dalmatian pup (9 months) also enjoyed a loaf in a half by climbing on the counter top...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
This is one of the best breads I have ever baked. It makes a wonderful gift to a new neighbor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2001
This isn't a new recipe, and the bread looks exactly like any banana bread would, but I liked using pear instead of banana - it was a nice change. It sure didn't last long at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
I thought this bread was really good, however, I didn't taste the pears at all. I could certainly taste the cinnamon. But since I don't care for pears, my family does, it was good. They liked it, I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
This bread was delicious...almost sweet enough to be a dessert! A hot, buttered slice is a wonderful way to start your day. You will certainly enjoy this moist, flavorful loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
Very tasty and easy, but I didn't get much pear taste out of it--the end result was a little like carrot cake. Next time I think I'll increase the amount of fruit I put in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
Pretty simple to make aside from grating the pears. The bread was a bit bland though, no pear taste. It would be good with a bit of jam or with milk. I also thought it might taste nice with a brown sugar crumble top, kind of like coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States