Pear Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
wonderful recipe :) i made a few variations after reading other reviewers- cutting down to 1c sugar, applesauce instead of oil, and increasing the amount of pears. i look forward to making this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squeezible

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I had tons of over ripe pears to use and not alot of ingredients to hand. So to make this I used half wholewheat and half self raising flour, 1 cup of white sugar, 1/2tsp cinnamon, 1/2tsp ground ginger, 1 cup of pear puree (I also mixed in one over ripe banana) instead of oil, 2 cups of choppped pears, a handful of chopped dates and a hanful of raisins. Pretty yummy!! I did find them still a bit sweet (even after not adding the full amount of sugar) so next time I'll just omit it. I made 12 muffins and one loaf in total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Fabulous quick bread! I made a few revisions to the recipe though. As others suggested, I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup of white, and 3/4 cup of light brown. I also reduced the oil to 1/2 cup, and added two very ripe, mashed bananas. For the pear, I used 2 cups of pear purée, and also added 1 cup of white chocolate chips. It turned out fantastic - I will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIERSA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was not a bad bread, but it did not taste a thing like pears at all to me. It was not as moist as I would have hoped. Good flavor, but not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I took advice from another reviewer and diced the pears to try and get more pear flavor. Both my husband and I weren't all that fond of biting into the occasional cold mush... but to each his own. ;) The cinnamon dominated the taste anyway (which I like) so I'm pretty sure grating will be sufficient next time. It was very good (even with the chunks)! I recommend this recipe and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This is an excellent recipe! Everytime I make it, it disappears. Can't go wrong with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Loved it! Had never thought of using pears in a bread before finding this recipe, great way to use up some extra fruit. Only changes I made were those suggestions in other reviews: used half oil and half applesauce, added 1/2 tsp nutmeg and increased cinnamon to 1-1/2 tsp. Also used walnuts simply because they were on-hand. Definitely a recipe to repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darla O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I chopped the pears instead of shredding. Also, I cut the oil to 1/2 cup and increased the pears to about 2 2/3 cups. Very moist and flavorful! No doubt I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Great recipe! I did make some of the same changes as others -- applesauce for the oil, added nutmeg, cut sugar nearly in half, substituted whole wheat flour, made into muffins (baking for 17 minutes)... All in all, I think this deserves 5 stars. Nice change to the usual banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States