Pear Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I had super-ripe pears so I had a go at this. Tasty and fairly wholesome with the following changes: whole wheat flour and whole oats for 2 of the cups of white flour; reduced the sugar to 1 c.; 1/3 c. canola oil and subbed vanilla yogurt for the remaining oil, cut the cinnamon back and added nutmeg and ginger; and added 3 slices of candied ginger that I minced and 1/4 c. of currants. I made 22 muffins with the recipe which I baked for 25 minutes. Topped them with raw sugar crystals for crunch and whole oats for decoration. I just mashed the pears with a potato masher and drained the accumulated juice after it sat. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I made this bread for family using pears from the tree in our backyard. Everybody has loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
this was a great recipe. i used walnuts instead of pecans. Also, I baked the bread in 2 metal coffee cans to give as gifts. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petal, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I brought some pear bread into work last year. I'm STILL being asked when I'm bringing in some more! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
This recipe was pretty good use of an abundance of pears; although, it was a bit sweeter than I was expecting. I did make a few changes though, as follows: 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup white sugar, and 4 cups chopped pears rather than the 2 shredded. I made 24 muffins with this recipe rather than 2 loaves. Muffins are easier for my toddler to hold on to, and I found the consistency was more cake like and suited to muffins. I would make this again, as we really enjoyed them but I may decrease the sugar a bit the next time. Thanks for the post. It was a good basis to put my own spin on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Excellent moist cake with a subtle flavour (I increased cinnamon to 1.5 tsp and added 1/2 tsp of nutmeg) - I baked it in a large muffin tin and got 18 large muffins out of the original recipe. I baked them at 165F/325C for 30 minutes and they turned out beautifully. I topped them off with Caramel Frosting V, which made for a delicious combination. My toddler and my husband loved these muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lublin, Lublin, Poland
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I made these yesterday and my daughter asked me when I plan on making more! I made them into muffins and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This lacks pear flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRCLAIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidon, South, Lebanon
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Growing up, my Grandmother always sent us a bottle of homemade pear jam no matter where we lived in the U.S. When I saw this recipe for Pear Bread I thought of her and of how delicous it would go with her recipe for her famous jam. Sure enough I was right...as soon as this bread came out of the oven, we spread slices with butter and her delicious pear jam! I'm pretty sure we got a glimpse of heaven within those two minutes of inhaling this delicious treat! Followed the recipe exactly. Thanks so much for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
I have just become and addict of "Pear Bread I" It is absolutely fabulous, especially when it comes right out of the oven, like mine just did. I could eat the whole loaf!!!!!!!!!!!! Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States