Pear Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This recipe is definitely a keeper. The house smelled heavenly while the bread was in the oven! The only thing I changed was I added a dash of ground cloves, nutmeg, and all spice to the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westlake Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
super good and very easy. yummy warm and cold also. this will go in my keeper recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Cut the sugar in 1/2 and split it between white and brown and used applesauce instead of oil. I also used my canned pears instead of fresh. This is great! Especially warm with some butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This is the first bread I have ever made, and it came out great. I found this recipe while looking for something I could use the canned pears I've had in the pantry for a year. This was delicious, moist, and was super-easy for a first timer. I especially love that it didn't require a mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This was a good way to get rid of pears, but as a bread it was more cinnamon-spice flavored than pear. I think I still prefer zucchini, pumpkin and banana breads to this one. It was a great experiment though, and it was easy enough to be worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Did 1 cup sugar and applesauce and 1c oatmeal per recommendations. Emily the 7 1/2 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Taking suggestions, I used all applesauce (no oil) and rather than decreasing the sugar, I used 1/2 white, 1/2 brown. I also chopped/diced the pears. This just cooled off enough for a taste--and it's just right--not too sweet, perfect amount of moistness/firmness. Others said this was too "light" for a bread, but I think it came out perfect. I mixed this by hand, so maybe that's why? The cinnamon is the main flavor, so next time, I think I'll use more pears (maybe 1/2 again as much). Thanks for a new and easy way to use pears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
The whole family loved the bread. We finished it in 4 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
wonderful recipe :) i made a few variations after reading other reviewers- cutting down to 1c sugar, applesauce instead of oil, and increasing the amount of pears. i look forward to making this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squeezible

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I had tons of over ripe pears to use and not alot of ingredients to hand. So to make this I used half wholewheat and half self raising flour, 1 cup of white sugar, 1/2tsp cinnamon, 1/2tsp ground ginger, 1 cup of pear puree (I also mixed in one over ripe banana) instead of oil, 2 cups of choppped pears, a handful of chopped dates and a hanful of raisins. Pretty yummy!! I did find them still a bit sweet (even after not adding the full amount of sugar) so next time I'll just omit it. I made 12 muffins and one loaf in total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States