Pear Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 1, 2007
This recipe was pretty good use of an abundance of pears; although, it was a bit sweeter than I was expecting. I did make a few changes though, as follows: 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup white sugar, and 4 cups chopped pears rather than the 2 shredded. I made 24 muffins with this recipe rather than 2 loaves. Muffins are easier for my toddler to hold on to, and I found the consistency was more cake like and suited to muffins. I would make this again, as we really enjoyed them but I may decrease the sugar a bit the next time. Thanks for the post. It was a good basis to put my own spin on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Excellent moist cake with a subtle flavour (I increased cinnamon to 1.5 tsp and added 1/2 tsp of nutmeg) - I baked it in a large muffin tin and got 18 large muffins out of the original recipe. I baked them at 165F/325C for 30 minutes and they turned out beautifully. I topped them off with Caramel Frosting V, which made for a delicious combination. My toddler and my husband loved these muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lublin, Lublin, Poland
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I made these yesterday and my daughter asked me when I plan on making more! I made them into muffins and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This lacks pear flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRCLAIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidon, South, Lebanon
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Growing up, my Grandmother always sent us a bottle of homemade pear jam no matter where we lived in the U.S. When I saw this recipe for Pear Bread I thought of her and of how delicous it would go with her recipe for her famous jam. Sure enough I was right...as soon as this bread came out of the oven, we spread slices with butter and her delicious pear jam! I'm pretty sure we got a glimpse of heaven within those two minutes of inhaling this delicious treat! Followed the recipe exactly. Thanks so much for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
I have just become and addict of "Pear Bread I" It is absolutely fabulous, especially when it comes right out of the oven, like mine just did. I could eat the whole loaf!!!!!!!!!!!! Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Well #1, big banana bread fan and probably made the mistake of "assuming" this would be a sweet bread like that. Wrong. Eventhough lots of "sweet ingr." not a sweet bread and can hardly taste the pear. In fairness, this bread is light tasting and a good staple bread for maybe tea? So to me, I'd put this in the CAKE category and add a frosting, which is what I did, and EVERYONE at the party loved it. I did have a plate of the "loaf pieces" and people couldn't believe it was the same recipe, hence why I think the "bread" compliments the frosting. So I'm keeping it just to use up all the pears from the tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Such a nice, moist, softly sweet bread. I used two cups whole wheat and 3/4 cup all-purpose flour. Next time I think I will use all whole wheat. I also used 1-1/2 cup Splenda in place of all the sugar, and 1/4 cup applesauce in place of the equivalent amount of oil. I used three Bartlet pears, still hard, that I chopped in the food processor. I baked it in four small loaf pans (but it would have fit in three) for about 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This is a tasty and moist bread. I also added 3/4 cup of raisans to the recipe and rough chopped the pears instead of grating. I received many compliments on this bread....definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Pretty good, I made a few adjustments based on what I had available. Namely, the two cups of pears were a combination of pears, apples and bananas and the pecans were substituted with crushed gingersnap cookies. It is a good way to use up fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States