Pear Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This bread is absolutely delicious! I made the recipe, as is, but without nuts (didn't have any on hand). I didn't shred my pears as they were too soft so I cut them up and put them in the food processor. A great way to use up your extra pears. My husband loves this bread! It had a cinnamon flavor with light pear overtones. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer63

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I am a relative newcomer to the bread making world, great winter weekend projects. We had some pears on the verge of going south, so I tried my hand here--the family went through this bread like a hot knife through butter. Just made it again today for Easter, but I did go off recipe now that I am getting to know my way around. Went half and half on the flour using wheat, went applesauce instead of oil, brown sugar instead of white, doubled the cinnamon, added one more pear and two bananas. Needs a bit longer in the oven, but great results. Threw in some flax meal to make it seam healthy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian N. Ramm

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boardman, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This is soooo good! Making my second batch tonight and I'm hoping it lasts until my in laws get here at the end of the week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Delicious! Couldn't really taste the pear, but was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samroberts357

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
we got those huge pears from Harry & David as a gift and found this recipe. I decreased sugar by 1/2 c., increased flour by 1/2 c.,shredded 3 pears and drained in colander, omitted pecans--otherwise did recipe exactly, baked for 55 min, they came out beautifully, plan to make 2 more loaves today as gifts. Great way to use pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I was very disappointed in this bread. I realize that pear is a subtle flavor, however, there was absolutely no flavor of pear in this bread. It's as if I made a sweet bread with no fruit flavor...tastes as if something is missing. I even added more pear than the recipe called for, added some ground ginger and a bit of brown sugar. Even with butter on it, it lacks flavor. Sorry, I give it 2 1/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is a very flexible recipe and a great way to use up all those pears on my neighbor's tree! The taste and texture of the pears is a nice change from bannana and zucchini breads and the nuts give it some crunch. My loaves had a rustic, old-fashioned look and taste. It was a zip to use my apple peeler to peel and slice the pears; then I sliced the stacks of slices into quarters. I used a heaping three cups of pears. To improve the healthiness of the bread I used 1 C of freshly milled white whole wheat flour and 1 C. freshly milled spelt, as well as 1 C. store bought all purpose flour. I followed other suggestions and used home-canned low sugar applesauce as a substitute for most of the oil and added 1/8 t. allspice, 1/8 t. cloves, and 1/2 t. ginger. Next time I will add 1/2 t. nutmeg and leave out the allspice. I used half brown sugar and half white, but next time will cut the sugar by 1/2 cup. I had no pecans so I substitued walnuts. I forgot to add the vanilla, so I drizzled the top with a powdered sugar/vanilla/milk glaze. I divided the two loaves in half and distributed them to my taste testers. My mom loved it but thought it a little sweet. My four co-workers were crazy about it. My neighbor loved it. My lawn mowing kid ate it with gusto. I really loved the heartiness of the flours contrasted with the soft texture and flavor of the pears. I am planning to make more loaves this afternoon to freeze. The horses loved the pear peelings and cores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Just made this bread. I didn't have any pecans. It is absolutely delicious. I had 3 pears going soft so I didn't need to shred them just cut them in small pieces. Also my oven may be off but I only baked for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holgate, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Really loved this! I used more pears and instead of using 2 loaf pans I baked the whole amount in a decorative bundt cake pan! It came out looking so nice! Got some great compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I added more pear and 1cup brandy/rum soaked raisins a m a z i n g
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States