Pear and Prosciutto Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Very excellent base recipe! Rated 4 stars instead of 5 for unnecessary prep time. I made a couple preparation changes which simplified and cut the time . 1. Whizzed olive oil and raw garlic with stick blender, spread on pizza crust and skipped the pre-baking garlic step . 2. Sliced pears thinly and skipped pre-baking them as well. They were nice and tender nonetheless. Substituted feta cheese for the mozzarella, which gave a great tangy-ness against the sweetness of the pears. My 14 y/o daughter said "this taste's awesome!" and hubby said, "you could open a restaurant with this pizza". Will definitely make again with the above changes. Thanks for the great idea, Bostoncook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was really good, I liked the combination of salty and sweet. I thin sliced the pears, and I also raosted the garlic and cooked the pears at the same time in the oven. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This pizza is soooo good! When first reading the ingredients, I didn't see how Swiss would be the right cheese for this pizza....but it was perfect. Making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This pizza is great. Instead of just the mashed garlic, I added the roasted garlic to a balsamic fig reduction, added a little honey and oil, and blended, then just put a thin coat of this sauce on the dough and followed the rest of the recipe as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was really, really good. We loved the saltiness of the prosciutto balanced with the sweetness of the sliced pears. I used a prebaked flatbread for the crust. I also used canned pears that I drained well and sliced. (I skipped the baking of the pears as they were soft out of the can.) This one is definitely going in the rotation. Thanks for an awesome and unique recipe, bostoncook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This is wonderful. The flavors truly compliment each other. I used flat bread purchased at Whole Foods for the crust. It made for a quick and easy yet different appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This pizza was Fabulous!! I did not change a thing and wouldn't. It is great just the way it is. Thanks for such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Yum! I thought this was an excellent combo. I loved the Swiss and mozzerella together. I followed the recipe exactly except I used a prebaked crust instead of an unbaked crust. My pears were not as ripe as I wished they were, but they came out perfectly when roasted as directed. I think very ripe pears could probably go directly on the pizza without pre-roasting. Great method for quick-roasting garlic. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This was pretty good I was just surprised at how much all the cheese over took the pears and they really weren't that sweet. Next time I might do without the swiss. I really just didn't get much sweetness that I wanted from the pears. Loved the way the garlic is done in this though. 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I made this for an office party, and I was very nervous about pear on a pizza. I am new to cooking, and pears with prosciutto seemed beyond strange to me, but I figured I would try it to impress my new coworkers. I made one pizza as a tester, and it didn't last 20 minutes, between me, my boyfriend and his friend. It was excellent! I made two more pizzas to take to work, and everyone could not get enough! I even had to print out this recipe to give to a couple of women who were begging for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FITFreshNY

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear Gorgonzola Pizza

See how to make a delicious pear and cheese pizza with an artisan pizza crust.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States