Pear and Gorgonzola Cheese Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Pretty good. I would agree about adding more toppings. I also think I'm going to try cutting pears into larger, juicier chunks to give more sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aimee_france
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
It was great! I wasnt sure what to expect but I was very pleased with the amazing flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White House, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This was the favorite by far at my pizza party. I added fresh pepper and drizzled with maple syrup before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
It is sooooo good. The dijon spread is so tasty with the pears. I went a little heavy on the olive oil on accident but it still turned out super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This was super yummy! I made 3 enhancements to the recipe. I spread a thin layer of olive oil on the crust before adding cheese, crumbled some bacon and drizzled a little honey on top. This recipe reminds me of the pear and gorgonzola pizza at California Pizza Kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Like one of the previous posters I did half and half on my pizza.....used. my own crust. Half I did as written and half with changes I thought would improve it. The original half gets a 4...very good. My changed half added the following....brushed the crust with garlic oil added carmelized onions and finely diced ham..and smoked mozzarella..and that half was just awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This was absolutely fabulous! I must say, I was skeptical, but you have to try it to be convinced! I almost omitted the walnuts, as I felt they were just too weird, but they made the pizza perfectly balanced! I made a homemade crust (Pizza Dough I from this site - see my tips on the review), and it was amazing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by derbyka
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Great recipe. Just like the pear and Gorgonzola pizza at California Pizza Kitchen. I used a mixture of smoked provolone, mozzarella, and Parmesan. I also added caramelized onions since they do that at the restaurant. It brings together the sweetness of the pear and the saltiness of the other things. Tip - saute the pear a minute or 2 in a pan on medium heat (I did it after I made the onions). It helps caramelize the outsides and bring out the sweetness since they don't always get done all the way in the oven. This is especially helpful when you don't have a great tasting pear. I cooked this pizza on the grill and it had an amazing smoking flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I really love Pear and Gorgonzola together so knew I wanted to try this recipe. I also read lots of reviews first and they influenced my approach. I wanted to try the recipe as written but also wanted to modify so I did both - a half and half approach. After trying it both ways - literally side by side - I have to say that we liked the modified version better. The original is GOOD - subtle, yet flavorful. The modified side included 4 changes - lightly brushing the prebaked crust with olive oil, the addition of carmelized onions, extra gorgonzola, and a sprinkling of excellent quality balsamic after baking. Those changes take the recipe from good to Excellent! Even though the creator of the recipe calls it an appetizer pizza - it was our main course along with a green salad. A perfect, light early summer dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This was very good and a refreshing change! I've had this recipe in my box for about a year and have been afraid to try it. I shouldn't have! I used the Quick and Easy pizza crust recipe from this site. I also went to the grocery store with the sole purpose of buying a pear for this recipe, so of course i forgot it! Drained and sliced a can of pears and it was still awesome. Next time I will double the toppings, as this was very crusty, and perhaps add a little garlic for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pear Gorgonzola Pizza

See how to make a delicious pear and cheese pizza with an artisan pizza crust.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

Grab a slice of Philly Cheese Steak pizza!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States