Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
My family loved this soup, but with some changes. I used the chunky Adams peanut butter and I pureed the soup. I then followed the original directions, but I found the soup surprisingly bland and tasteless. I then added a sprinkle of celery seed (although I think adding some minced celery to the onion would be better - upon realizing that the soup was bland, I read other peanut soup recipes that used celery, so I used what I had on hand). I also added a dash of nutmeg. I garnished with chopped cilantro and chopped peanuts which looked and tasted great. I served this to an eclectic group of people (some whom I thought wouldn't be adventurous enough for peanut soup and one person who had, coincidentally, made this exact recipe herself and hadn't liked it because it was too bland, but liked mine with the additions). Everyone raved about it and most went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was good. The only change I made was to use 1 1/2 cups chunky Peanutbutter, instead of adding in extra peanuts. My husband ate his served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
A fascinating and original recipe. Those that turn their nose up to anything a little off the mainstream path may not appreciate this recipe, but if you enjoy foods that are a little exotic and unusual, this is very worthwhile. It's a no-brainer to fix in terms of time and ingredients. but get a good brand of peanut butter since it's such a critical ingredient. I used the Smuckers Natural Peanut Butter (chunky) other reviewers recommended. The consistency and flavor of this recipe truly will please those with discriminating taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
So happy I found this recipe! I had surgery a week ago on my throat and have been living on chicken broth and tomato soup and this was a welcome change! I normally like my peanut soup spicier but in this instance this was perfect, very flavourful and just a great change. Once I'm feeling better, I will probably try it again with some hot sauce to give it a little extra something. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELZILE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This soup is a tad bland but after adding 1 teas. curry powder that did the trick. I would suggest you add curry 1/4 teas at a time until you get it to your liking. Also I used 1 cup evaporated milk instead of whipping cream didn't have any. Next time I will saute 1/2 cup celery with the onion. Also, I was thinking I'd use some cooked chicken chunks tossed in for variation. This is a very rich soup. I ate one bowl and my husband polished off the rest for dinner and his lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This soup is so good! I used vegetable stock instead of chicken stock to make it vegetarian-friendly, and I also snuck in an extra clove of garlic. My husband and I ate it with some crusty Frech bread, and it's very tasty. Next time, I plan on adding more flour to give it more thickness, and I might try a peanut butter that's not quite as sweet (we used Skippy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
***** If I could I would rate this a perfect 10! I was looking for something different, but simple to serve to guests as an appetizer. I served this in individual souffle dishes and it was a big hit. The only change I made was to use half and half instead of heavy cream. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I think maybe peanut butter soup just isn't for me. It tasted like watered down peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
The first mouthful was good, but it was so incredibly rich, I could barely eat half a serving. I'm glad I tried it, but I won't be making it again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
My husband made a wonderful peanut soup like this for me on one of our first dates over 30 years ago. After we married, we made it frequently until the recipe became stained, torn, and eventually lost. We were delighted to find it again here and made it again. It was delicious, as always. We suggest substituting olive oil for margarine, half and half for whipping cream. Also, if you use crunchy peanut butter you have peanuts throughout the soup and needn't put any on the top as garnish; smooth peanut butter gives a more velvety texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States