Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2000
This soup is delicious! It is a very quick, not to mention tasty, addition to any dinner. I served it with pumpernickel bread, but would also be good with a side salad and low-fat chicken dinner. This soup is very rich and creamy, so a small cup-size serving is enough per person. I definitely recommend making this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
Unfortunately, we did not like this recipe. I've had peanut soup at restaurants and was trying to find a comparable recipe, but this wasn't close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Loved this soup! I made this for my family at Thanksgiving as a surprise, and it received much praise and made me look like a hero. Thanks Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
My husband made a wonderful peanut soup like this for me on one of our first dates over 30 years ago. After we married, we made it frequently until the recipe became stained, torn, and eventually lost. We were delighted to find it again here and made it again. It was delicious, as always. We suggest substituting olive oil for margarine, half and half for whipping cream. Also, if you use crunchy peanut butter you have peanuts throughout the soup and needn't put any on the top as garnish; smooth peanut butter gives a more velvety texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
delicious recipe! very rich, you only need a small serving. It might also taste great on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN-RENEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This soup is easy to make and taste great. But my only suggestion is use an entire jar of smuckers all natural creamy peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
A fascinating and original recipe. Those that turn their nose up to anything a little off the mainstream path may not appreciate this recipe, but if you enjoy foods that are a little exotic and unusual, this is very worthwhile. It's a no-brainer to fix in terms of time and ingredients. but get a good brand of peanut butter since it's such a critical ingredient. I used the Smuckers Natural Peanut Butter (chunky) other reviewers recommended. The consistency and flavor of this recipe truly will please those with discriminating taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
I think this recipe is great. I use real butter instead of margarine, although I might use the suggestion of olive oil next time, and crunchy peanut butter. I have also used half & half. I've made this for family and they loved it, and my husband has requested it a couple of times. Good winter soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
The first mouthful was good, but it was so incredibly rich, I could barely eat half a serving. I'm glad I tried it, but I won't be making it again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This soup is so good! I used vegetable stock instead of chicken stock to make it vegetarian-friendly, and I also snuck in an extra clove of garlic. My husband and I ate it with some crusty Frech bread, and it's very tasty. Next time, I plan on adding more flour to give it more thickness, and I might try a peanut butter that's not quite as sweet (we used Skippy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States