Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Loved this soup! I made this for my family at Thanksgiving as a surprise, and it received much praise and made me look like a hero. Thanks Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2000
This soup is delicious! It is a very quick, not to mention tasty, addition to any dinner. I served it with pumpernickel bread, but would also be good with a side salad and low-fat chicken dinner. This soup is very rich and creamy, so a small cup-size serving is enough per person. I definitely recommend making this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
A fascinating and original recipe. Those that turn their nose up to anything a little off the mainstream path may not appreciate this recipe, but if you enjoy foods that are a little exotic and unusual, this is very worthwhile. It's a no-brainer to fix in terms of time and ingredients. but get a good brand of peanut butter since it's such a critical ingredient. I used the Smuckers Natural Peanut Butter (chunky) other reviewers recommended. The consistency and flavor of this recipe truly will please those with discriminating taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
So happy I found this recipe! I had surgery a week ago on my throat and have been living on chicken broth and tomato soup and this was a welcome change! I normally like my peanut soup spicier but in this instance this was perfect, very flavourful and just a great change. Once I'm feeling better, I will probably try it again with some hot sauce to give it a little extra something. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELZILE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
delicious recipe! very rich, you only need a small serving. It might also taste great on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN-RENEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
I think this recipe is great. I use real butter instead of margarine, although I might use the suggestion of olive oil next time, and crunchy peanut butter. I have also used half & half. I've made this for family and they loved it, and my husband has requested it a couple of times. Good winter soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was good. The only change I made was to use 1 1/2 cups chunky Peanutbutter, instead of adding in extra peanuts. My husband ate his served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This soup is so good! I used vegetable stock instead of chicken stock to make it vegetarian-friendly, and I also snuck in an extra clove of garlic. My husband and I ate it with some crusty Frech bread, and it's very tasty. Next time, I plan on adding more flour to give it more thickness, and I might try a peanut butter that's not quite as sweet (we used Skippy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
***** If I could I would rate this a perfect 10! I was looking for something different, but simple to serve to guests as an appetizer. I served this in individual souffle dishes and it was a big hit. The only change I made was to use half and half instead of heavy cream. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
More accurate rating would have been 4.5; wonderful but not perfect...yet. :) If you like peanut & are ready for something a little different, give this soup a try! The flavor is rich and you can taste all the ingredients...the garlic & onion are suprisingly good compliments to the peanut butter! I changed the following for nutrition or convenience reasons (and liked the results): *1 c fat free half & half instead of heavy cream *1 1/2 c chunky peanut butter instead of 1c pb & 1/2 c crushed peanuts Next time I may use the whole 18oz jar of chunky pb; a small increase that may help thicken the soup just a bit. PB used: JIF naturals chunky - worked well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States