Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
A fascinating and original recipe. Those that turn their nose up to anything a little off the mainstream path may not appreciate this recipe, but if you enjoy foods that are a little exotic and unusual, this is very worthwhile. It's a no-brainer to fix in terms of time and ingredients. but get a good brand of peanut butter since it's such a critical ingredient. I used the Smuckers Natural Peanut Butter (chunky) other reviewers recommended. The consistency and flavor of this recipe truly will please those with discriminating taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This soup is easy to make and taste great. But my only suggestion is use an entire jar of smuckers all natural creamy peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
delicious recipe! very rich, you only need a small serving. It might also taste great on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN-RENEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
My husband made a wonderful peanut soup like this for me on one of our first dates over 30 years ago. After we married, we made it frequently until the recipe became stained, torn, and eventually lost. We were delighted to find it again here and made it again. It was delicious, as always. We suggest substituting olive oil for margarine, half and half for whipping cream. Also, if you use crunchy peanut butter you have peanuts throughout the soup and needn't put any on the top as garnish; smooth peanut butter gives a more velvety texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Loved this soup! I made this for my family at Thanksgiving as a surprise, and it received much praise and made me look like a hero. Thanks Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
Unfortunately, we did not like this recipe. I've had peanut soup at restaurants and was trying to find a comparable recipe, but this wasn't close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2000
This soup is delicious! It is a very quick, not to mention tasty, addition to any dinner. I served it with pumpernickel bread, but would also be good with a side salad and low-fat chicken dinner. This soup is very rich and creamy, so a small cup-size serving is enough per person. I definitely recommend making this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-27 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States