Peanut Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I was very happy with the taste, but it stopped there. It may have been the humidity, but hours later mine were not completely set and I could tell the first batch was gonna stick to the wax paper,(and my table) so I sprayed the next row of wax paper with PAM. That kept them from having to be pried off my table top, but the paper still stuck to the back. IF I ever make them again, I will use a candy thermometer and not the cold water method and I will have to figure out something else to put the hot candy on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Great recipe. I grew up in Texas where the ubiquitous red peanut pattie is everywhere. This is a very good recipe that comes very close. I modified the recipe by replacing the corn syrup with a 3/4 cup white sugar, and 3/16 cup of warm water mixture as my family members are allergic to corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This recipe is the best I have tried,except I had to cook it to 250 degrees. Also as a helpful hint put them in foil cupcake baking cups. It keeps them all together instead of spreading out eveywhere.Be sure to spray the cups with PAM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
the recipe did not say to grease the wax paper . all of mine r stuck with paper like glue. other wise turned out great. make sure u cook them to 250 degrees on thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I followed the directions exactly, cooking to a soft-ball stage on the candy thermometer. They did not set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I have read another recipe and they didn't add the evaporated milk in their recipe. What difference does it make? I gave it four stars because of the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I can't get these to set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Definitely NOT pink peanut patties. More like caramel patties. As such, they set up fine and taste good, but not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I think I'll give up. Two batches that were both utter failures. The first I followed the instructions as listed here. You'd need a spoon to eat it. The second I followed what many said about heating to 250. The second weas better, but still more like gooey taffy than the "gas station peanut patties" I was hoping for. I'll continue seeking that perfect peanut patty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockdale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
the most important bit of information was left out...After you stir in the butter, vanilla & food coloring you need to beat by hand until it gets thick. My first batch I did exactly as recipe said and had to throw it out. Then a consulted a friend and they told me that you had to beat and beat and it would thicken up and it did !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States