Peanut Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Used ground ginger for lack of fresh stuff and it turned out tasty. Heed the "too salty" warnings, I only have dark soy sauce which is way saltier, and used less than a 1/4 cup and it was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheCookGood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I mostly followed the recipe, so I can't speak to the exact proportions. I decreased the soy sauce based on other reviews, and used powdered ginger since I didn't have fresh. I added tofu since I wanted more than just the noodles. My sauce ended up being thicker than I had thought it would be, but I thinned it out some with more water. I liked the taste, and will continue to make it, probably with some small changes like adding vegetables. A great recipe to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
don't put in more than 1/4 tsp chilli unless you want it hot. I added garlic and lightly pan roasted peanuts for extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettymum

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redlands, California, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
We love this recipe with a couple of changes. I slice several green onions (white and green part), use only about 2 teaspoons of peanut butter, otherwise the PB is overwhelming and adds to the saltiness. I also add a few drops of Chinese fire oil (careful!!) for a bit of a kick and less sesame oil than called for. Love sesame oil but this, too, can be an over-powering taste. It's very strong. Have often tossed in leftover pork, chicken or beef to stretch a dollar now and then. We love it without the meat, as a side dish. Excellent while noodles are still warm or the next day after being chilled. Have also added chopped red, green, yellow bell peppers for eye appeal and super crunch. Grandkids love it and daughter often takes it to work for her lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
We liked this - took it to a potluck and most people liked it a lot. I thougth the vinegar was a little strong, and would use rice vinegar next time rather than cider vinegar. All-in-all a good recipe, and I'll make it again, thanks for the posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
We really liked this a lot. The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly. I ended up needing to add more water to the sauce as others have recommended as it does thicken up quite a bit. After that start I started improvising every time I made it and have now settled on something we really like. I double the recipe (because it does make a great packable cold lunch). I use the whites of the onion, but also chop the green and add them into the sauce right before adding the pasta. I also add in a can of water chestnuts for crunch and I substitute rice wine vinegar for the cider vinegar. Instead of water, I use a bottle of ginger beer (the first time because I was trying to get rid of it and thought - what the heck - but we liked the flavor it added so now use it all the time. Right before serving I squirt some fresh lime over the top. This is a great recipe from which to improvise to your own tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
These noodles are decent and are nice and creamy when hot, but the soy sauce flavor is too strong. I suggest using just 2 T soy sauce and adding 2 extra T hot water. You may need to add a little salt if you do this, but hopefully the soy won't cover the other flavors. Will definitely try this again with a few more tweaks because it has lots of promise. Oh and whole wheat spaghetti worked with it really well, you couldn't really tell it was whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Yummy! I tripled the sauce, lessened the amount of water and added sliced green peppers and a tsp of minced garlic to the sautee. Then I mixed the sauce and 16 oz of noodles. Added 3 baked chicken breasts shredded and steamed brocolli. Oh and I used ginger paste instead of fresh. It was deeelicious! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Okay, followed the directions yet mine came out dark brown not the pretty golden colour like the pics! Regardless, the taste was odd and lacking something so not going to be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This is a very tasty recipe. Very easy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States