Peanut-Ginger Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I definitely agree with the review suggesting to add curry powder. Other than that, the amounts of ingredients taste right -- although I just ballpark it. It was a hit with friends at my 1st annual vegan feast, and I'm making a batch right now for a potluck at work tomorrow. Super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Rippon
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This recipe is AWESOME. It tastes so good. But be careful, it can be a little salty. We checked our garbanzo beans and our tomatoes and they had salt, so we'll probably cut the additional salt. We like Indian food, so we added a nice amount of curry, and like another reviewer, we once made it with yellow squash. Bravo! Even our pickiest eater (ME) loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I found it interesting that it's called a curry dish, but had no curry in it, so I added two teaspoons to this recipe. I also found it a bit bland, so I tripled the amount of cayenne pepper. The result? A curry dish that tasted legit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This recipe was yummy! I used half the amount of tomatoes and light coconut milk. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This is a great recipe. It's very easy and tastes great except that I'd like a bit more heat which is easy to remedy. I made this for a work pot luck and it got raves. I followed the recipe except that I toasted the spices in a bit of grapeseed oil before adding them to the coconut sauce. I also added some curry and some garam masala as others had suggested. Oh, and I used lite coconut milk. Next time I will increase the spices and also either add more cayenne pepper or a dried thai chili. I might also try using extra chunky peanut butter to add a bit of crunch to the it. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Yum! Even my picky husband liked this. I only had one can of chickpeas, so added some carrot chunks that I had lightly steamed. I also followed other reviewers' suggestions and added a teaspoon of red curry powder. Served with brown rice. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Was good with a little added curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
My husband and I are not big chickpea fans (except hummus) so we didn't hold out much hope for enjoying this recipe. But it was surprisingly good. I boiled the chickpeas for 15 minutes to help soften them up. I'm not sure this helped, but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I changed the recipe to what I had on hand. I used soy milk, but added coconut, and used crushed tomatoes. This was delicious! I'll be making it again. Hopefully next time, I'll be able to use diced tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
We enjoyed this very much but like another reviewer, I don't know why it has a curry name - I added a little curry powder for 'kick'. We aren't vegan so 2 cans of chick peas was too much for us - I substituted 3 doz medium shrimp for one can of the peas. Quick & easy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States