Peanut Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Very yummy easy to make cake. Very rich with all the butter but my husband is a huge fan of chocolate & peanut butter desserts, so thank you for your recipe. Now his mom isn't the only one who can make him a choc/pb cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Photo by Tanya
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This cake is fabulous... I have made it a few times and have found it works best for me to double the chocolate, subtract a tablespoon of butter, cut sugar down to 1 1/2 cups... and use cold strong coffee in place of water. :D The frosting is heavenly, but I tend to use half butter and half shortening, and a bit less milk. I am raising peanut butter addicts, so I have made the frosting at least twice as many times as the cake. :D Thank you for posting the recipe. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I really liked this recipe. The only thing that I would like is a cake that tasted more chocolatey. I would try to use a different cake next time I made this but I loved the frosting. I ended up putting more peanut butter than it call for in the cake but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Absolutely addictive! I love this recipe, in the cake I replaced 1/4c of flour with cocoa and like some others suggested I used cold coffee instead of water. For the frosting I only used about 1t of milk and 2c of powdered sugar, and I have to say I liked it so much I left some in the bowl and just ate it with a spoon! I also put chocolate ganache over the frosting - very decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This was excellent. The only thing I changed is used part coffee and part water. Instead of peanuts I used chopped up peanut butter cups. It wasn't to chocolatly which was a nice change. I made this for Easter and it was gone in minutes. Defintely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This peanut frosting is AMAZING!! I used it on top Of the One Bowl Cholcolate Cake III recipe...it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
my son wanted a chocolate cake with peanut butter frosting so I made this for him. Now he askes me every day if i can make it for him lol. Its Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eden

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Four stars for the cake - it is certainly moist and fluffy although not quite chocolate-y enough for my taste; but five stars for the frosting! I made it for my sis-in-law's birthday. The entire family loved it and there were requests for the recipe. Changes I made - I cut down the sugar in the cake by 1/4 cup. As for the frosting, I creamed the butter and peanut butter together first and slowly added the icing sugar till I got the sweetness that I wanted. It certainly did not need the amount of sugar stated. I also found that I did not need to add any milk at all - the frosting would have been way too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
The cake wasn't that chocolatey as written so I had to add more chocolate. That resulted in an overly filling cake so nobody got to take seconds. The peanut butter icing was pretty good, I used a bit more PB and a bit less margarine. Less sugar and milk as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States