Peanut Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I made this cake for my husbands birthday, and it was wonderful! I added shredded chocolate for decoration. The taste was just wonderful. I got a lot of raves!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Baldwin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I made this for a friend/co-worker's birthday; it was very good, and I do quite a bit of baking. The cake was very moist and flavourful. I don't have any 9" pans so I used three 8" pans instead and didn't cut the cakes in half (so mine was only a 3-layer cake). I just cooked the cakes for a bit less time. The only thing I would do differently is add less milk to the icing; I think 1/4 cup is too much and I had to add a whole bunch of extra confectioner's sugar to compensate. So the icing was really, really sweet. I would start off with less milk and see if you need more as you mix the icing. I also had a lot of extra icing (probably more than a cup) but that is likely due to the extra sugar I had to add plus one less layer to my cake. Some people didn't like the peanuts and others suggested adding peanuts between the layers....I guess you can't win in that department!! Very yummy cake; lots of compliments!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pincher Creek, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I made this a bithday cake for someone who liked reeses cups. And everybody loved it, I did not put the peanuts on because all I could smell was the peanut butter. And they all said it was decadent. Highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I made this today for my husband's birthday party. He and all our guests loved the cake! I replaced the water with strong brewed coffee, giving the cake an even richer flavor. I made a two layer cake, rather than a 4 layer. I didn't top with peanuts...due to personal taste. This is the perfect cake for those chocolate and peanut butter lovers! I'll definitely be making this cake again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
The best! It tasted soo good. It was like a peanut butter cup in cake form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DancingLily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
People are convinced that I'm a master chef after I made this... that couldn't be further from the truth, but that just speaks to how awesome this recipe is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Made this cake for my mother-in-laws birthday. Everyone loved it. So moist and the icing is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sweetness14445
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Great cake! not as chocolatey as I would have liked, but definately tasted good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetness14445

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
i'm giving this 5 stars because it's the best homemade cake i have made. it's very very moist.the changes i made was i used cake flour instead of all purpose used coffee instead of water and unsweetened cocoa powder instead of unsweetened chocolate because that's what i had on hand. as far as the frosting i halfed the recipe but doubled the peanut butter because i like the strong peanut butter flavor. i will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States