Peanut Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
WOW! I must say that this was one of the easiest cakes to make. I followed the recipe with NO changes and it turned out perfect. The icing is one of the fluffies I have ever tasted. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Yummy! The icing was fantastic! I could eat if by itself. The cake was light and moist. A very nice combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Moist, very tasty,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Made my own chocolate cupcakes but the peanut butter frosting was amazing. Amount was enough to cover 24 cupcakes with a decent size swirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This cake is AMAZING!! I would give it 5 stars with the adjustments I made but I only gave it 4 because it would've been way too sweet w/o the adjustments. I used an extra 1/2 oz of the bakers chocolate and left out half of the water because it was getting soupy. For the frosting I used chunky peanut butter and didn't add peanuts and left the milk out or it would've been way too watery. I also only used 1 1/2 c. confectioners sugar and it was plenty sweet. With the adjustments it was a DELICIOUS, moist, flavorful cake and I will definitely make it again, thank you for the awesome recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lotusvibes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
YUMMY DELICIOUS. I have found my from-scratch chocolate cake recipe! Most other recipes I tried were too dry. This is wonderful & moist & flavorful. My hubby is from PA, so chocolate cake w/ PB frosting is a standard for him. He said this was the best he's ever had! I followed the instructions EXCEPT I only had 1/2 C of sour cream instead of a full 1 C, so I used 1/2 C of sour cream & 1/2 C of plain non-fat yogurt. I also used just 2 C of flour & 1/4 C of unsweetened cocoa powder. I omitted the peanuts because of my hubby's preference for no nuts. THIS IS A KEEPER RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Kind of dry the first day, but much better and more moist by day two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
MMM what a wonderful cake. The cake and icing complimented each other perfectly. I followed the recipe as is and the cake came out moist and chocolaty while the icing was surprisingly not as sweet as it looks, with a peanut butter taste which reminds me of the middle of a Reese's cup somewhat. Yummy! I did opt to leave out the finely chopped nuts as garnish cause I knew I wouldn't enjoy it like that. I also made this into a three layer cake, dividing batter evenly among my pans. I found that I did not need to add any milk to get a spreadable consistency on my frosting as well. Thanks for the recipe, it was delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was my first from-scratch cake ever and boy was it a huge success!! My husband's first comment was that it was the best cake he'd ever eaten! It was gobbled up so quickly and everyone was ooo-ing and aah-ing the entire time. I followed the recipe exactly except I topped the cake with Heath toffee bits instead of peanuts. I also put heath bits in between two of the 4 layers. The cake was very moist and the peanut butter icing just went perfectly with it. It was absolutely divine!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CB09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JaxBeans
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Great recipe! Mine turned out with a slight coffee flavor, but everyone loved it. Extremely moist and goes great with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States