Peanut Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
WOW! I must say that this was one of the easiest cakes to make. I followed the recipe with NO changes and it turned out perfect. The icing is one of the fluffies I have ever tasted. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Yummy! The icing was fantastic! I could eat if by itself. The cake was light and moist. A very nice combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Moist, very tasty,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Made my own chocolate cupcakes but the peanut butter frosting was amazing. Amount was enough to cover 24 cupcakes with a decent size swirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This cake is AMAZING!! I would give it 5 stars with the adjustments I made but I only gave it 4 because it would've been way too sweet w/o the adjustments. I used an extra 1/2 oz of the bakers chocolate and left out half of the water because it was getting soupy. For the frosting I used chunky peanut butter and didn't add peanuts and left the milk out or it would've been way too watery. I also only used 1 1/2 c. confectioners sugar and it was plenty sweet. With the adjustments it was a DELICIOUS, moist, flavorful cake and I will definitely make it again, thank you for the awesome recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lotusvibes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
YUMMY DELICIOUS. I have found my from-scratch chocolate cake recipe! Most other recipes I tried were too dry. This is wonderful & moist & flavorful. My hubby is from PA, so chocolate cake w/ PB frosting is a standard for him. He said this was the best he's ever had! I followed the instructions EXCEPT I only had 1/2 C of sour cream instead of a full 1 C, so I used 1/2 C of sour cream & 1/2 C of plain non-fat yogurt. I also used just 2 C of flour & 1/4 C of unsweetened cocoa powder. I omitted the peanuts because of my hubby's preference for no nuts. THIS IS A KEEPER RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Kind of dry the first day, but much better and more moist by day two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
MMM what a wonderful cake. The cake and icing complimented each other perfectly. I followed the recipe as is and the cake came out moist and chocolaty while the icing was surprisingly not as sweet as it looks, with a peanut butter taste which reminds me of the middle of a Reese's cup somewhat. Yummy! I did opt to leave out the finely chopped nuts as garnish cause I knew I wouldn't enjoy it like that. I also made this into a three layer cake, dividing batter evenly among my pans. I found that I did not need to add any milk to get a spreadable consistency on my frosting as well. Thanks for the recipe, it was delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was my first from-scratch cake ever and boy was it a huge success!! My husband's first comment was that it was the best cake he'd ever eaten! It was gobbled up so quickly and everyone was ooo-ing and aah-ing the entire time. I followed the recipe exactly except I topped the cake with Heath toffee bits instead of peanuts. I also put heath bits in between two of the 4 layers. The cake was very moist and the peanut butter icing just went perfectly with it. It was absolutely divine!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CB09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JaxBeans
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Great recipe! Mine turned out with a slight coffee flavor, but everyone loved it. Extremely moist and goes great with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States