Peanut Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Very yummy easy to make cake. Very rich with all the butter but my husband is a huge fan of chocolate & peanut butter desserts, so thank you for your recipe. Now his mom isn't the only one who can make him a choc/pb cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Photo by Tanya
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This cake is fabulous... I have made it a few times and have found it works best for me to double the chocolate, subtract a tablespoon of butter, cut sugar down to 1 1/2 cups... and use cold strong coffee in place of water. :D The frosting is heavenly, but I tend to use half butter and half shortening, and a bit less milk. I am raising peanut butter addicts, so I have made the frosting at least twice as many times as the cake. :D Thank you for posting the recipe. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I really liked this recipe. The only thing that I would like is a cake that tasted more chocolatey. I would try to use a different cake next time I made this but I loved the frosting. I ended up putting more peanut butter than it call for in the cake but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Absolutely addictive! I love this recipe, in the cake I replaced 1/4c of flour with cocoa and like some others suggested I used cold coffee instead of water. For the frosting I only used about 1t of milk and 2c of powdered sugar, and I have to say I liked it so much I left some in the bowl and just ate it with a spoon! I also put chocolate ganache over the frosting - very decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This was excellent. The only thing I changed is used part coffee and part water. Instead of peanuts I used chopped up peanut butter cups. It wasn't to chocolatly which was a nice change. I made this for Easter and it was gone in minutes. Defintely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This peanut frosting is AMAZING!! I used it on top Of the One Bowl Cholcolate Cake III recipe...it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
my son wanted a chocolate cake with peanut butter frosting so I made this for him. Now he askes me every day if i can make it for him lol. Its Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eden

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Four stars for the cake - it is certainly moist and fluffy although not quite chocolate-y enough for my taste; but five stars for the frosting! I made it for my sis-in-law's birthday. The entire family loved it and there were requests for the recipe. Changes I made - I cut down the sugar in the cake by 1/4 cup. As for the frosting, I creamed the butter and peanut butter together first and slowly added the icing sugar till I got the sweetness that I wanted. It certainly did not need the amount of sugar stated. I also found that I did not need to add any milk at all - the frosting would have been way too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
The cake wasn't that chocolatey as written so I had to add more chocolate. That resulted in an overly filling cake so nobody got to take seconds. The peanut butter icing was pretty good, I used a bit more PB and a bit less margarine. Less sugar and milk as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States