Peanut Choc-Scotch Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I personaly love butterscotch and had to try this out when I first seen it. I cut the recipie in half, but followed it exactly afterwards. (except I did add a couple extra table spoons PB due to other reviews saying it lacked the PB taste) EXCELENT! It was a hit along friend and family. It set up perfect! Will definaly keep this one around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariah Ollberding Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I have made this twice now, and the first time I made it the flavor was good, but the consistency was really crumbly. The second time I made it the fudge was so hard I couldn't even cut into it. Both times I waited until the sugar formed a ball when dropped into hot water. I think a thermometer is needed for accuracy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
i don't have a candy thermometer and didn't quite understand the cold water technique so my fudge turned out a little grainy. Regardless, it had a fairly nice taste. i used an extra third cup of chocolate and that helped tone down the butterscotch. pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I agree with some other reviews that the butterscotch flavor in this fudge is what you taste more of. However, being a big fan of any butterscotch flavor myself I thought this fudge was excellent! It set up perfect. Very rich and I just cut it into small pieces. Fantastic flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenwich, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I made this around Christmas time, I followed the recipe exactly and I thought it was wonderful! It is very sweet so eat in moderation. Everyone at my work and all my family loved it! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anndria Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
melts in your mouth. amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Followed the recipe as written, except I started with a bigger pan (having had experience cooking this type of sugar, butter, milk combination before). Checked for the soft ball stage after approxiately 2-1/2 to 3 minutes at a full rolling boil...perfect. Got rave reviews from everyone. Great flavor, really nice texture. The butterscotch does slightly overwhelm the chocolate, but we were looking for something different from the usual chocolate fudge. As another member mentioned this is very sweet, but fudge is supposed to be sweet or it wouldn't be fudge. Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Pretty tasty! The only problem I ran into was that the recommended pot size was not big enough! (I doubled the recipe) In the midst of a saucepan boil over, I switched everything to a stock pot - plenty of room for mixing in and it didn't boil over. OVerall, this was an easy recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I found this to be VERY dry and although it had good flavor would not make it again. It was TOO sweet and along with the texture, I was not impressed with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan N Terry Born

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Very good. I did make changes due to my limited ingredients on hand. I only ever have fat free milk and have found that this can be a problem in fudge making. So, I used up some left over heavy cream and half and half that I had. Also, had not semi-sweet or butterscotch chips, only milk chocolate. So, I used 2 cups of milk chocolate and it turned out great, now more of a peanut butter/chocolate fudge. I have a candy thermometer, but if you don't, just use the cold water trick. Check the consistency about 3 minutes into boiling, that is normally when it hits the 'soft ball stage.' One other thing that I changed was instead of spraying the dish, I lined it with wax paper so I could easily pull the fudge out to cut, plus easier clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States