Peanut Choc-Scotch Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
this recipe did combine the best of all worlds. i thought it could have used a lot more chocolate, but my husband LOVED it. BEWARE: this is very, very sweet, again my husband liked it that way. also, i don't have a candy thermometer so i have no idea what temperature i boiled it to and it still came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
This fudge was really tasty and easy to make. The only thing I changed was I lined the pan with foil instead of greasing it and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
Total chocolate fix, I find myself sneaking in the kitchen to get a bite in the middle of the night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Everyone LOVED this! First time fudge making, It was great! Sent it to my husbands company holiday party. The only problem ( I think with all fudge) is that it was hard to get out. My kids even overbuttered the dish. I am going to make it again and use parchment paper. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
The texture of this recipe was amazing, but the butterscotch to chocolate to peanut butter ratio was really in need of improvment. First of all, I could barely taste the chocolate or peanut because of all the butterscotch! The butterscotch chips were so rich that next time I think I'll cut them down to a half cup. Also, I would suggest doubling the peanut butter. I couldn't taste the chocolate either so I added a cup of cocoa, which worked well. I'm not even sure that the chocolate chips are necessary. I probably would've given this recipe 3 stars because of this, but, as I said, the texture was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
YUMMY! This was my first time making fudge AND I made a few modifications to make it non-dairy (used vegan "butter" and chocolate soy milk) and I used natural peanut butter and it still turned out great! Didn't have a thermometer and I never did get the described effect when I dropped a small amount of syrup into cold water (maybe because of the non-dairy ingredients??) so I have no idea what temperature it was when I took it off the stove. I thought the balance of flavours was great, but then again, I was looking for a butterscotch fudge recipe to begin with (the choclate and peanut butter was a bonus). Delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Yummy. Very smooth. Not too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This is awesome!! It tastes like a scotch-a-roo bar without the rice krispies. It literally melts in your mouth! Delicious!! Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This recipe is awesome. The only change was I did not use lemon juice I added 2 tbsp of water. I also added a bit of red pepped flakes. Love it! It did take about 40 minutes to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Very good. I did make changes due to my limited ingredients on hand. I only ever have fat free milk and have found that this can be a problem in fudge making. So, I used up some left over heavy cream and half and half that I had. Also, had not semi-sweet or butterscotch chips, only milk chocolate. So, I used 2 cups of milk chocolate and it turned out great, now more of a peanut butter/chocolate fudge. I have a candy thermometer, but if you don't, just use the cold water trick. Check the consistency about 3 minutes into boiling, that is normally when it hits the 'soft ball stage.' One other thing that I changed was instead of spraying the dish, I lined it with wax paper so I could easily pull the fudge out to cut, plus easier clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States