Peanut Caramel Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Very soupy and greasy, even with less butter in the caramel. You might be better off stirring caramel squares in with apples in regular apple crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I give this recipe a 3 star for taste but also mine came out soupy. would be excellent over ice cream. Followed recipe exactly but still came out very soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Darn it... I was really rootin' for this recipe. Yup... Totally 'soupy' and greasy. Almost too sweet, even with Haralson apples. Stuck this in the freezer, to get it to "firm up" - but then it just got ugly... (All that butter coagulated and looked utterly disgusting) I did use OATS instead of PEANUTS not just out of preference - but I didn't have any peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
it was a nice idea, and once the caramel part actually comes together, that itself isn't too bad, but the whole thing together, not so great. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, New York, USA
Living In: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I just made this for Thanksgiving tomorrow and mine came out "soupy" also. I'm very dissapointed although I have other desserts my family was really looking forward to this one. I'm not sure what happened but along with it being soupy it was very greasy. My topping never got crumbly either. This was a huge dissapointed the night before Thanksgiving and I don't think I'll try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I just made this recipe and it came out soupy for me also. It had lots of butter on the top hen it came out of oven. I scooped some of the butter off and put it back in oven to see if this would help. Is there anything wrong with using margarine instead of butter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
wow... im so disappointed.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
It was like "soup". I have added 1/2cup tapioca to it and rebaked it after a day to try to thicken it up. Very greasy with all the butter. Would never make it again. Have been baking for 40 years and never had such a flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
The second time we made this, we used fat free sweetened condensed milk and light butter, and it was just as great!! I'm not sure why it would be soupy, perhaps the caramel never candied? Make sure you cook the caramel mixture long enough before adding it to the apples, so possibly longer than 12 minutes. We have a very hot gas stove. Also, we used VERY large apples, so many more apples would be necessary. I really hope it turns out well for you; we absolutly love this dish and are also making it for Thanksgiving :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States