Peanut Candy Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Yes, this is quite good! My husband said it tasted like a soft Payday candy bar. I did add 1/2 a cup of peanut butter to the topping because my bag of chips was only 1 1/2 cups. Otherwise I made as written. I like the salty with the sweet and the softness of the cake layer. A hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This dessert is super rich and has great flavor! I've made it many times and my best advice is to LIBERALLY spray the sides of your baking pan to prevent the marshmallow from becoming a permanent fixture. I also spray my knife before attempting to cut this dish. Also, I've found I'm too cheap to buy the necessary 2 cups of peanut butter chips and just use a standard 12 oz. bag (which is about 1.5 cups. It works just fine. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Wow!! Yummy. I made this for dinner guests. My family and their family loved it. I sprinkled chocolate chips on top at the very end. Wouldn't change anything else about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESSELMJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This one is a bitt too sweet for me. It's worth trying though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakingaddict
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I've made other desserts like this that turned out with a hard crust, but this turned out soooo soft. Be careful when pouring the topping mixture over the marshmallows, or you might cave in the middle. I had marshmallows coming up the sides of the pan, so next time when I pour on the topping, I'll do it slowly and in spoonfuls along the edges first then work my way in. Also! The bag of peanut butter chips wasn't enough, so I added peanut butter to that mixture and a little more corn syrup too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingaddict

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Not sure where the "cake" portion of the title came from because these are definitely bars. And good ones! The regular bags of PB chips are 1 2/3 c. but I found that you really need the additional 1/3 c. to cover all of the marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
The bar cake turned out very well but even in a tupperware it became very hard very fast. It only took a few days for it to lose the softness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty O'Brien

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
These were sweet, but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
Excellent Recipe...sooo good, going to use chocolate cake next time to give it some chocolate in the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
These bars are a must make for anyone who likes sweet & salty combinations. I did have a bit of trouble with the recipe since the peanut topping didn't "spread" very well over the melted marshmallow. I ended up mixing up another half batch of the peanut topping to completely cover all the marshmallow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States