Peanut Butter Vegetable Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
This is the recipe I've been looking for!! I used to work for a specialty restaurant in the 80's that served a soup called "African Peanut Chicken"...it was by far the most popular soup. The restaurant closed for business years ago and took the recipe with them! I used the base of the recipe (the broth, tomatoes, onion, celery, chicken and garlic). To make it "African" I used canned okra, corn, rice, cayenne pepper, and coriander. It turned out great! I've dreamed of that soup for years and now I can have it anytime I want! It even has the enthusiastic approval of my family, even my picky peanut-butter hating 13 year old daughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I made this soup the other night.I thought that the flavor was very good. after reading some of the reviews,saying that they thought it was very bland, I did change 1 thing about the recipe.Not the ingredients,but just one step.I began with 2 TBLES. olive oil,heated,added celery,onion, garlic,a little salt &pepper to that and sauteed them til soft.Then added the broth and the rest of the ingredient's.This usually adds more flavor to the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
I loved this soup, very good recipe with a sweet flavor. the peanut butter gave it a thai flavor. i made the mistake of telling my boyfriend there was peanut butter in it though so he kept complaining about it even though he liked the soup. Word to the wise ladies: what your man doesnt know wont hurt him! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I love this soup! I've made it several times. It freezes well. I like freezing it in individual portions and popping it in the microwave for lunch. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
I was a little leary about trying out soup that had peanut butter in it, but with all the rave reviews, I decided, why not? I just got done with dinner and the soup was absolutely delicious! I didn't tell my boyfriend about the peanut butter until after he started eating. He couldn't believe it had peanut butter in it! And with all the healthy veggies in it, how could it be anything but great! We've added it to our list of our favorite recipes and I'm already looking foward to serving it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori Schriver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Wow! This is SO good! Even the broth is so delicious, which is unusual for a soup. Next time, we'll try it in the slow cooker and add peanuts (though we used crunchy peanut butter and those little bits of crunch were great!) Try this soup! Suspend disbelief!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
I cringed while adding the peanut butter to this soup but it was amazing I only used carrots patatoes and onions because I didnt have the rest of the veggies on hand I also added egg noodels and some tomato sause it was great thank for the idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This recipe made me look like a genius! I modified due to the veggies I had on hand so I ended up with potatoes, canned carrots, diced tomatoes, fresh broccoli, frozen stir fry veggies, frozen corn, and frozen onion. I also added some rice in step 2. HUGE hit w/my non-veggie loving family. 5 stars for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Excellent soup. As for peanut butter grittiness this might help. A recipe for a simlilar peanut soup from Ghana I got years ago uses this method - In a heavy saucepan cook peanut butter over low heat, stirring almost constantly. It will turn silky and runny, then start to firm up again. This is the most labor intensive step. Add 1 1/2 cups of the broth and mix until smooth. Then add to soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2000
My son and I thought this soup was excellent. My husband thought it was too until he heard it had peanut butter in it. Go figure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States