Peanut Butter Vegetable Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
not that great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ljshrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I was looking forward to making this soup as I do like cooking with peanut butter in both sweet and savoury recipes. I followed the recipe exactly and it did make a good soup. However, I tasted the soup to check for seasoning just before adding the peanut butter and I have to say I preferred it without the peanut butter. In fact next time I will leave it out altogether and maybe instead, add chilli and coconut milk and sprinkle some toasted peanuts as a garnish for a thai style soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Delicious and both my boys gladly gobbled it up, including every last veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg H

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Loved this! My roommate is allergic to potatoes so I substituted portabello mushrooms - it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
If you are skeptical you should try it. My husband made it without any chicken, it was delicious. With the leftovers we added chickpeas and curry. It was delicious. It does smell peanuty, but the taste is different. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K. Hopson

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
The soup as listed is pretty good, but it can be excellent with some changes. I doubled all the veggies (tripling the garlic) and used a bit more chicken (2lb raw). I cooked the chicken in a crockpot with the tomatoes, a little salt and pepper, 1/2 tsp each granulated garlic, turmeric, and cumin, and 1/2 tbsp each chili powder and dried parsley; the blend spent 5 hours on low, then I shredded the chicken. I flash sauteed the onions, garlic and celery in 1/2 tbsp of olive oil and added the veggies, stock and chicken/tomato/spice mixture. I brought the pot to a boil, reduced the heat to medium, simmered for about 5 minutes, then added the peanut butter and fresh parsley. I let it simmer for another 15 minutes or so, leaving the lid on because the additional veg/chicken meant that I had to conserve as much liquid as possible. It was thick like a stew, and very flavorful. In terms of the appearance, the added spices gave the broth some very pretty red and orange notes. I'm giving the recipe only 4 stars as written, but I think it's worthy of 5 stars with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
It's OK, but I expected more flavor. You can taste the peanut butter. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
The combination of vegetables was really hearty with no one vegetable standing out and being overpowering. I did enjoy the taste of the soup very much, but the one thing that bugged me was the light brown color of the liquid. It was ok to eat it the day of, but I found myself not wanting to eat the leftovers, even though I did think it was tasty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I thought this recipe was just okay. I think it was missing something or a little too thin. I followed it exactly as it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Wow..was this yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cross Plains, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 495) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States