Peanut Butter Vegetable Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This recipe is delicious. I appreciate that it calls for no noodles or any other carbs. You could almost use any combination of vegetables, but the 1/2 c. of peanut butter is essential. It's makes the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSKENNYS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I loved this soup and strangely the "I'm not touching a vegetable EVER" 16 year old boy liked it too. I followed it exactly as written except I didn't use green pepper as it makes me sick. Mine probably needed 1 1/2 tsp of salt but I used homemade chicken stock from my dog's chicken so not much salt in it. Both kids said we should put it in the rotation. Next time I would use crushed tomatoes instead of whole since they were hard to break up! I also might swap some sweet potatoes for the regular potatoes. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Illinois, USA
Living In: Odell, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I've made this several times and forgot to review this - it's delicious! No changes, follow it to a T and everyone LOVES it, even after you tell them there's peanut butter in it later. Definitely chicken soup for the soul!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Love this soup.. but instead of can of tomatoes I use a can of ROTEL .. instead of broccoli I use corn ... instead of parsley I use cilantro!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I looked at this recipe title and though it would be a little strange, but thought my kids would get a kick out of it. It is FANTASTIC. I made it to spec and we really liked it. You don't think "peanut butter" when you eat it. A guest teen went home and told his mom it was the best soup he had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
So delicious! I must admit, I was really worried about it after I added the peanut butter. I was very close to telling the fam I made a horrible mistake and to check the fridge for cold pizza. I've made other dishes with peanut butter - but this looked really scary. I did add some red pepper flakes as we like things spicy. And I added some cooked noodles to the bottom of our bowls before adding the soup for more heartiness. This is a keeper. I'll experiment with the vegetables next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
This soup is simply amazing. I cut it down from 8 cups of water to 6, although if you like a soup with a lot of broth, then stick with the 8 cups; if you don't, then drop down to 6 cups, or thicken however you please. I tossed a few dashes of some hot sauce in while it was cooking, but it doesn't even need that the taste is so good. My wife kept saying, "This is really good" over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Very unique soup, but delicious! Really filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Very good soup, but docking a star for looks--also, the flavors don't get a chance to layer and build on themselves so it's a little "flat." I wouldn't say "bland" but just not as interesting as I thought a peanut butter soup would be. If I make this again, I may go with chunky peanut butter or add in some chopped roasted peanuts as another reviewer said they did. I think some "crunch" would help. I did use another reviewer's suggestion of sauteeing the garlic, celery, onion, salt and pepper in some oil first before adding the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Awesome! I must admit, I was skeptical about the peanut butter, but you must try it! I doubled all the vegetables, and the result was a very thick & hearty soup! I also used a rotisserie chicken, and added it to the very end, as it doesn't need to cook. I've never heard of a soup recipe not starting with oil and the onion, so I tweaked it: I heated 1 1/2 Tbl. olive oil, and added the celery, onion, bell pepper, and garlic, sauteeing until all were soft. I then followed the rest of the steps (as a timesaver, I used a can of *diced* tomatoes instead of whole). Note that using reduced fat peanut butter is just fine! I added 1/2 tsp. salt + 1/2 tsp. pepper at the end, and would use those measurements again. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States