Peanut Butter Vegetable Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I looked at this recipe title and though it would be a little strange, but thought my kids would get a kick out of it. It is FANTASTIC. I made it to spec and we really liked it. You don't think "peanut butter" when you eat it. A guest teen went home and told his mom it was the best soup he had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
So delicious! I must admit, I was really worried about it after I added the peanut butter. I was very close to telling the fam I made a horrible mistake and to check the fridge for cold pizza. I've made other dishes with peanut butter - but this looked really scary. I did add some red pepper flakes as we like things spicy. And I added some cooked noodles to the bottom of our bowls before adding the soup for more heartiness. This is a keeper. I'll experiment with the vegetables next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
This soup is simply amazing. I cut it down from 8 cups of water to 6, although if you like a soup with a lot of broth, then stick with the 8 cups; if you don't, then drop down to 6 cups, or thicken however you please. I tossed a few dashes of some hot sauce in while it was cooking, but it doesn't even need that the taste is so good. My wife kept saying, "This is really good" over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Very unique soup, but delicious! Really filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Very good soup, but docking a star for looks--also, the flavors don't get a chance to layer and build on themselves so it's a little "flat." I wouldn't say "bland" but just not as interesting as I thought a peanut butter soup would be. If I make this again, I may go with chunky peanut butter or add in some chopped roasted peanuts as another reviewer said they did. I think some "crunch" would help. I did use another reviewer's suggestion of sauteeing the garlic, celery, onion, salt and pepper in some oil first before adding the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Awesome! I must admit, I was skeptical about the peanut butter, but you must try it! I doubled all the vegetables, and the result was a very thick & hearty soup! I also used a rotisserie chicken, and added it to the very end, as it doesn't need to cook. I've never heard of a soup recipe not starting with oil and the onion, so I tweaked it: I heated 1 1/2 Tbl. olive oil, and added the celery, onion, bell pepper, and garlic, sauteeing until all were soft. I then followed the rest of the steps (as a timesaver, I used a can of *diced* tomatoes instead of whole). Note that using reduced fat peanut butter is just fine! I added 1/2 tsp. salt + 1/2 tsp. pepper at the end, and would use those measurements again. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This is really good, the only changes I made was added yellow squash along with the zucchini, minus broccoli and green pepper (didnt have any) and it was delicious. Thank you for the recipe, its a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This was fun to serve! I was excited to see who would be the first to name the "mystery" ingredient. 6 adults at the table. 4 liked it, 1 did not, and grandma ~ She flat out hated it and said I ruined a perfectly good vegetable soup by adding whatever it was I added. I would make this again, but in a half batch. It reminded me of Thai food and I wished I had some chili flakes to sprinkle on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Paramount, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Decent. Next time I will use a bit less peanut butter, as it dominated the soup. It also took much longer than specified to get the vegetables soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WhiteRayla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
One of the best soups I have ever made. The peanut butter just gave it a good kick, and I added 1/4 to a 1/2 teaspoon of Tabasco sauce. (I just use the shake and taste method so I can't be any clearer than approximately! I am thinking how good yams would be added to the veggie roster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 495) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States