Peanut Butter Vegetable Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This was good and unique, but not my favorite. I admit I did choose the wrong potatoes (gold rather than russet) so they did disintegrate into the soup, plus I added veggie pasta which took longer to cook than I intended. Good veggie option, but not my favorite soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This is one of my favorite things to make. Easy, healthy and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Really good. Based on the other reviews, I was worried the soup would be a little bland, so I sauteed the celery, onion, carrot and garlic in olive oil first with thyme and marjoram, and some red pepper flakes for a little kick. Then I added some mushrooms about two minutes before I added the chicken and potatoes. I used some mini potatoes I had left over and left the skins on for more nutrition. Then I added a can of corn with the zucchini, and I used a can of diced fire roasted tomatoes instead of the whole tomatoes. Not a big fan of green pepper so I left that out. I also used chunky peanut butter. When I tasted it, it was still missing a little something for me, so I added a little hot Hungarian paprika (I like spicy). Yum! I like that there was a lot of broth, but if you aren't a fan of broth I think about 6 cups chicken broth would be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth P

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
While I probably won't make this again, I did enjoy it just because it was very different. I omitted the zucchini because I didn't have any, and if I were to make this again, I would omit the broccoli because of the strong flavor. I would just add more carrots and potatoes, possibly adding green peas as well. My husband, who really loves peanut butter, had no idea it was in the soup. I tasted it before and after the addition of the peanut butter, and it really does give it the unusual, interesting flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This is fantastic - I change it around depending on what veggies I have. Tonight I used leftover rotisserie chicken, a broccoli, cauliflower, orange and yellow carrot mix with some green beans thrown in for good measure. The peanut butter adds a wonderful richness and I like the texture you get with crunchy peanut butter rather than creamy. I have yet to serve this to someone and have them not tell me they love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMSKYSMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I made this soup last night. My husband, who rarely has accolades for anything he eats, said it was "supurb" and stated that this was "probably the best soup" I've ever made. I wasn't sure if I should feel complimented or insulted! I made it as written except for omitting green peppers (hate 'em) and adding a cup of frozen corn instead. The corn was a GREAT addition and next time (and yes, there will definitely be a next time!) I'll add even more and I'll probably omit the potatoes because they just seemed out of place and mushy.. This really was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I absolutely LOVED this soup! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I love chicken soup, and I had high hopes for this recipe because I wanted to shake things up a bit from my usual soup. I did not care for the peanut butter addition. This isn't a matter of not liking peanut butter (I probably love PB a little too much, if you know what I mean--I'd be happy to sit with a jar of PB and a spoon!). I just didn't like the flavor it added to the soup. I know many reviewers say it's not noticeable, but it was to me (actually, why add it in the first place if it's not noticeable?), and I didn't like it with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I've made this twice now, varying the veggies each time, and love it. The PB gives it a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States