Peanut Butter Vegetable Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Abby
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This soup is awesome. I had potatoes, carrots and cabbage that I wanted to make into a soup to freeze and found a few recipes with peanut butter in them. This seemed like the one I could adapt most easily to what I had in my pantry. The 8 cups of stock made at least 10 if not 12 cups of soup, half that I froze, half that's in the fridge, and a bowl I had immediately! I added in some red pepper flakes to give it just a teeny kick. Really good soup that I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
My teenager requested this soup today so it's bubbling away! I make my own stock and sometimes don't have all the veggies but it's still great every time. Today I doubled the peanut butter, since that's my daughter's favorite part, and we didn't have broccoli or zucchini, but it's still great. Thanks for a simple yet unusual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pearlgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I make all kinds of soup all winter but this is definitely one of the best!! My husband (who complains when I sometimes make heartier soups for dinner) loved this one - even for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cochrane, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Hate to give it a three star rating, but it was just so so in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is great. It's delicious, packed with healthy stuff, not too expensive to make, and easy to make. It's mostly a lot of cutting/chopping/mincing. I substituted 2 tsp of curry powder for the black pepper, and it was perfect. Flavorful and delicious. You could add some red or cayenne pepper to my version if you like a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This was good and unique, but not my favorite. I admit I did choose the wrong potatoes (gold rather than russet) so they did disintegrate into the soup, plus I added veggie pasta which took longer to cook than I intended. Good veggie option, but not my favorite soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This is one of my favorite things to make. Easy, healthy and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Really good. Based on the other reviews, I was worried the soup would be a little bland, so I sauteed the celery, onion, carrot and garlic in olive oil first with thyme and marjoram, and some red pepper flakes for a little kick. Then I added some mushrooms about two minutes before I added the chicken and potatoes. I used some mini potatoes I had left over and left the skins on for more nutrition. Then I added a can of corn with the zucchini, and I used a can of diced fire roasted tomatoes instead of the whole tomatoes. Not a big fan of green pepper so I left that out. I also used chunky peanut butter. When I tasted it, it was still missing a little something for me, so I added a little hot Hungarian paprika (I like spicy). Yum! I like that there was a lot of broth, but if you aren't a fan of broth I think about 6 cups chicken broth would be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth P

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
While I probably won't make this again, I did enjoy it just because it was very different. I omitted the zucchini because I didn't have any, and if I were to make this again, I would omit the broccoli because of the strong flavor. I would just add more carrots and potatoes, possibly adding green peas as well. My husband, who really loves peanut butter, had no idea it was in the soup. I tasted it before and after the addition of the peanut butter, and it really does give it the unusual, interesting flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 504) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States