Peanut Butter Vegetable Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Wow, this is so good. The peanut butter gives it such an interesting flavor. The only change I made was to use a tomato from our garden instead of the canned. DH won't like this, but that's ok...more for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
We loved this! I read that many thought it was a little bland, so, since my family likes a lot of flavor...I decided to add a handful (about a tablespoon) of manchu curry powder, and a sprinkle of red pepper flakes. That added just the right amount of kick, but still not too spicy for my 8 and 9 year olds to handle. My husband brought the leftovers to work for lunch the next day, which is always the sign of an awesome meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Everyone's right about how versatile the soup is; I didn't even have regular potatoes on hand, so I used some bagged hash brown potatoes instead, and it's still awesome! My four-year-old is gobbling it up as I write this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Just make it! Best soup I've ever eaten, and a huge hit with my friends! I use the "Fast Chicken Soup Base" recipe from Pam Anderson, and I love trying it with different vegetables, especially kale. After I served this to my friends a couple of times, they started adding peanut butter to other soups I made. To cut the sugar, I used 1/2 regular peanut butter, and 1/2 sugar-free and salt-free peanut butter from the grocery store (I set a tea strainer with peanut butter into the pot to prevent small pieces of peanut from getting into the soup). Definitely mix peanut butter into a separate pot with some broth first, then add to the whole pot of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I had all the ingredients (which is unusual for me) so I thought I would give this one a try... After reading all the great reviews, I was expecting the soup to be a big hit with my whole family but it wasn't - at all. I was very disappointed. My husband & I both agree it only deserves about about 3.5 stars. I don't think the peanut butter did anything to improve this soup. And since I can't waste food, I get to eat the left overs...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Truely is a fantastic soup! 4 WW pts a serving. Looove it =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieCakes02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This is an awesome recipe. Even my peanut butter hating wife loved it! This is going to be on our menu often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I used this recipe but changed up the veggies a bit according to our tastes. I added about a cup of okra, used sweet potatoes instead of reg, added about one cup of each corn, carrots and edamame. I cooked the onion, celery, garlic and bell pepper in about a TBSP of olive oil. I ended up adding more chicken broth b/c it was getting too thick for our tastes. I probably added a little more crunchy peanut butter than called for also. We loved it! Thanks for a great recipe that can be adapted for different tastes. BTW, I did add a little tabasco to mine! Follow-up: Mine was not very good later reheated so best to eat this the day you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klhskygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Not very good, the flavor was very different and vegetables didn't hold the peanut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoffeeAddict
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I made this recipe as written, minus the broccoli. Pretty good, but needed more spice. Then I followed the suggestion of other reviewers and added corn, okra, rice, cayenne, and coriander. Amazing results!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 508) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States