Peanut Butter Vegetable Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This is a change up to a regular chicken soup. The peanut butter really adds a great body to the soup. It is great as is, but if you want to tweak it to your liking it can be even better. To the original recipe I added 1/3 tsp. cayenne, 1 tbs. coriander, squeezed in 1/2 of a lemon, and topped each bowl with chopped basil leaves. Gave it an African flare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
We REALLY liked this soup! My bf said it eats more like a STEW! HEARTY MEAL. I left out zucchini, but added cauliflower and mushrooms. I sauteed the onion, green pepper, celery, garlic, and 4 sliced mushrooms in 2Tbsp butter. When serving, I added a few dashes each of curry powder and ginger powder to bottom of each bowl. Man, did those additions enhance an already GREAT recipe. Thanks, Annie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zerodramamama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Burgettstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Omitted chicken and doubled veggies....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This soup is delicious! It reminds me a bit of Thai flavoring with the peanut butter, if that can make it more palatable to the skeptic. It's flavorful, filling, and keeps very well. I like to pick my own veggies at random for a new experience every time. To be honest, it doesn't even need the chicken (though it does add a nice meaty element).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meggers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hialeah, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Not particularly good. Not particularly bad. It has a bit of a strange texture and the leftovers weren't fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RazzyHoHo
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Really liked this a lot! I made it as is and will definetely make it again. Love all the vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Very tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I didn't have the broccoli or the bell peppers, but I used a little more celery, potatoes, and zucchini. Otherwise, I made the recipe as written. I thought it was okay, but not really super special as far as vegetable and chicken soups go. The peanut butter did add an interesting new flavor to regular vegetable soup, and I really like vegetable soup anyway, but I wouldn't say that I "love" this soup or that it's the greatest thing ever. It's tasty and I'll make it again when I want comfort food. One thing, I was almost overwhelmed by the peanut butter smell. My in-laws couldn't even tell it had peanut butter in it, either by taste or smell, and I know I have an unusually good sense of taste and smell, but something to be aware of if anyone else is sensitive to smells. Once I was eating it I was fine, but when cooking it and then heating it up the next day in the microwave, I wasn't sure I would eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I made a few changes. I used tofu , sweet potatoes, and red peppers for substations . I absolutely love this soup. It has a thai taste. I am making it again today. It will be a staple in my house. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I think this is my new favorite chicken soup. It is AMAZING!!! The fresh parsley really makes it. The hubs and I like a hit of spice, but we never want to overdo it for the kids, so I added a little chili powder, and a little more salt and pepper. I served it over brown rice and the hubs and I added some sriracha to give it some more punch. I can't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 497) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States