Peanut Butter Vegetable Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I was searching for recipes to use up canned goods since we are moving and I found this. I had to majorly improvise on some things, such as tomato sauce instead of tomatoes, and I had to use chicken flavor bouillon cubes to make stock instead of real chicken stock, so I was not expecting much. I had to use yellow pepper instead of green and didn't have any zucchini, and used canned carrots, potatoes, and chicken. I was SO not expecting much but my whole family loved it!! Everyone had seconds or thirds, including my picky two-year-old!! She literally licked her bowl!! I actually added extra peanut butter because we love peanut butter, but everything else was unintentional. This is a perfect recipe to add whatever vegetables you have on hand, even canned, and it will turn out really well. I would highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Gallagher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This soup was good but not great. It seemed as though it was missing something so I added a little cayenne pepper and honey and it helped a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Omg this soup was delicious. Even my 15 month old daughter scarfed it right up and had seconds. I had to substitute a sweet potato instead of regular potato just because it was what I had on hand. Next time I will add either some brown rice or whole wheat pasta to make it a little heartier...I have to admit that my hubby and I were both starving about 30 minutes later! I added a little sriracha to my bowl and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
My goodness! This was delicious. Even better the second day! Also, it's best served VERY warm, but not too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelie Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This soup is absolutely scrumptious! I pressured cooked chicken breast and thighs to keep their flavor and make my own broth. Sauteed the garlic, onion and bell pepper to bring out their flavor. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
My whole family loves this soup. I always add some Thai peanut sauce which gives it a little kick and an Asian flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Wasn't sure I would like this but wanted to give it a try...trying to low carb or Paleo it and thought this soup would fit the bill. I too was skeptical about the PB but I only added half the amount and tasted it while piping hot...I omitted potatoes and had no zucchini or broccoli and when it cooled down some it was very GOOD! two of us ate at least half of this I froze the rest and took some to work next day and it was AMAZING! Flavors must melt together more after sitting...thanks for a great soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This is a change up to a regular chicken soup. The peanut butter really adds a great body to the soup. It is great as is, but if you want to tweak it to your liking it can be even better. To the original recipe I added 1/3 tsp. cayenne, 1 tbs. coriander, squeezed in 1/2 of a lemon, and topped each bowl with chopped basil leaves. Gave it an African flare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
We REALLY liked this soup! My bf said it eats more like a STEW! HEARTY MEAL. I left out zucchini, but added cauliflower and mushrooms. I sauteed the onion, green pepper, celery, garlic, and 4 sliced mushrooms in 2Tbsp butter. When serving, I added a few dashes each of curry powder and ginger powder to bottom of each bowl. Man, did those additions enhance an already GREAT recipe. Thanks, Annie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zerodramamama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Burgettstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Omitted chicken and doubled veggies....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 504) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States