Peanut Butter Tandycakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Great recipe. Cake turned out well. Had to bake a bit longer than specified, and I agree that two cups of peanut butter is too much. Overall I will definitely make again! UPDATE made again last night and halved the PB and used. Half a bag of semi-sweet morsels and half a bag of milk chocolate morsel, as well as a 1/4 cup additional milk on the batter and I feel that it made the cake a bit more moist. My only complaint is that I don't feel that ot was moist enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is an absolute hit everywhere I take it!! It is enjoyed by both adults and children. It is the homemade version of Peanutbutter Tastycake (even better). And it's a large tray so there is plenty to go around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nursemom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
taste just like tastykakes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was very good, and very easy to make. It really did taste like a Tastycake! I do not have a jelly roll pan, but I made it on a stonewar "bar" pan which is about the size of a cookie sheet. Because it is stoneware, it took about 5 -10 minutes longer to cook than the recipe directed, but still turned out very well. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Very nice, but not very similar to Tandytakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Good flavor, but didn't care for the texture of the cake...a little on the tough side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
My most requested item when I go to a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
easy to make and a definite crowd pleaser. I made this for a block party and gave the recipe to most of the families there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Since I didn't actually use the cake recipe provided here, I'm not sure if I'm entitled to rate it, but here goes: I used a Jiffy yellow cake mix and baked it in an 8 by 8 pan (they're small mixes), then spread about 3/4 cup peanut butter on it. I broke up one of the big Hershey bars and put the pieces on top, then set it in the turned off oven for a couple minutes to melt the chocolate and spread it over the cake. The amount of chocolate was perfect and I had no problem cutting it, even when cooled. This was very easy and yummy, I only wish I had tasted a real Tandy Cake before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I'm sorry to say that I was disappointed in this cake. I love peanut butter and chocolate, but this cake didn't cut it. The cake had an odd texture, really chewy, almost like rubber. I agree with the user who said that the peanut butter needed to be sweetened. Plus, 2 cups of peanut butter was way too much. I heated it to help it spread and it oozed over the sides of my pan. Even though I greased and floured my pan, the cake still stuck. Sadly, this isn't a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States